Muffins, cookies and more

Today has been a rainy summer day. 
So this morning after our morning chores I sewed up a nightgrown for
Rebecca.  My mom had sewn up 2 for Sarah for her birthdy last
week.  I told Rebecca I would sew up a couple for her too  I
made one for her last sunday, and this morning I sewed up another
one.  They are so easy!!  It only took me about 2 hours at
the most to sew it this morning!  Rebecca is thrilled and she
asked me if she could wear it tonight!  πŸ™‚

This afternoon I decided to do some baking.  The cookie jar
has been empty for a while now.  So I bake cookies and
muffins.  Here is the recipe I used for the cookies.  this is
the first time I used this recipe and the family has exclaimed that
they are delicious! 

Chipits Peanut Butter chip Cookies

Cream together 1 cup shortening, (I used margrine) 1 cup brown sugar
and 1/2 cup granulated sugar. Beat in 2 eggs and 1 1/2 vanilla.
Combine 2 cups all-purpose flour, 1 tsp baking soda and 1/2 tsp salt. Gradually blend into creamed mixture.
Stir in 1 package (300g)  hershey chipits reese peanut butter chips and 1 cup of chopped peanuts (optional)
Drop by tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake a 305 F for about 6 minutes.

I had some zucchini from the garden that need to be used so I made up
these muffins.  They are also yummy and healthy for you.  A
tasty snack!

Zucchini Muffins

All purpose flour         1 cup
Whole wheat flour      1 cup
Baking powder          1 1/2 tsp
Baking soda               1/2 tsp
Cinnamon                  1 tsp
Allspice           
         1/2 tsp ( I didn't have any so I
left it out)
Salt                           1 tsp

Egg                           1
Cooking oil               1/2 cup
Granulated sugar        1/2 cup
Grated zucchini           1 cup
Milk              
            1/2 cup

Measure fist 7 ingreds in large bowl. Stir thoroughly. Make a well in the center.

In smaller bowl beat egg until frothy, mix in remaing in ingred and
stir only to moisten.  batter will b lumpy.  Fill muffin cups
3/4 full and bake at 400 for 20-25 minutes Let stand for 5 minutes and
then remove from pan.

Anyway, that is what I did today, beside the normal cooking meals/cleanup.  πŸ™‚

I also read some stories to the children and while I was baking in the
kitchen, the children were playing house.  They made a nice house
with blankets!  They had fun and were playing nicely most of the
time. 

After supper the girls, baby and I went for a bike ride.  It was
fun, Benjamin enjoys riding the hte baby seat on my bike.  I'll
post pictures of that tomorrow, or later on. 

May the Lord richly bless you!

8 thoughts on “Muffins, cookies and more

  1. Hi Tanya!! I so wish we were neighbors! Not only would you be fun to be around, but perhaps you’d be able to teach me to sew! I’m trying, but it is slow going. And if we at least lived in the same country, maybe you’d invite us for tea and feed me some of your delicious baking. While we were peacefully nibbling and chatting, our 9 sweet children could be playing house in the blanket fort!! Ahh, well…one can dream!!!

  2. That would be wonderful!!! But remember I’m a shy girl! LOL πŸ™‚ Hoepfully we will meet, though!!

  3. I need to sew up some pajama tops for the boys! They have plenty of pants, but end up wearing t-shirts on top!
    Yum, those baked goods look good! Wish I was over for some tea!

  4. That would be fun to have tea together. πŸ™‚ My mom also sewed up some pj’s for Nathaniel and they were fast to make too. I think we are all set now! πŸ™‚

  5. I am ashamed to say that sewing nightgowns hasn’t even crossed my mind! How funny is that :)? I’ve been so worried about what they’ll wear in public (because you can’t find anything at the stores!) that they have had to squeak by with very little in the PJ department (because you can’t find anything half way decent there either!). I probably should have STARTED with nightgowns to refresh my rusty sewing skills :). Less chance of my lack of expertise making it public ;). So, next time I run some errands I’ll have to pick up a pattern or two for nightgowns, thanks for the inspiration :)!
    Those muffins look yummy by the way! We have muffins every Monday morning, we love muffins!

  6. The nightie pattern I used was Simplicity # 8488 πŸ™‚ It is hard to find pj’s without the lastest cartoons on them etc…

  7. I know what you mean Tanya! Thank you so much for the number, too. I looked while I was out the other day but Wal-Mart didn’t have much of a selection :). I’ll have to try to get by Hancock Fabrics when we go to pick up the car. Thanks!

  8. You are welcome Shelby. It is very easy amd straight forward to make. The girls have been wearing their nighties every night now. πŸ™‚

    Ok, I better turn this computer off!! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

