Blueberry time!

We went blueberry picking last
Tuesday afternoon.  The children (minus baby) and I went picking
with friends of ours.  The girls pick 3 litres and I was able to
pick 11 litres.  We all had an enjoyable time, except Nathaniel
was stung by a bee or wasp.  All of a sudden I heard him
crying/screaming, so I went over to see what was wrong and the girls
told me a bee or wasp flew off of him.  I took Nathaniel and we
went looking for plantain, I had read before how it works wonders on
bee stings, we found some and I chewed it up and then put it on his
ear.  He had been crying the whole time, but once I put the cushed
plantain on his ear, he stopped and said it just hurt a tiny bit
now.  I was so glad, we were out in the back of the blueberry
patch and I wasn't sure what else I could have used.  Plantain is
a blessing!   He didn't even swell.  God is good!

Thought I would share a few pictures….  This is after we first arrived, so the baskets are empty.  πŸ™‚

On Wednesday I made 14 jars of blueberry jam.  I'm pleased with how it turned out and it is delicious!

Our little blueberry adventure!  πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Blueberry time!

  1. How blessed you are to live in “farm country”–so many wonderful memories for your children. We live in mountain foothills–high and dry! I would love to taste those delicious-looking jams, and your kids are just darling,

    Sherry

  2. I remember days of picking strawberries…Being in an orchard has many long lasting effects! Have a great day!

  3. Who watched the baby for you while you were gone? πŸ™‚ Your children look so clean and well-cared for. πŸ˜€
    ~Tammy

  4. THank you for sharing those pictures! That sure brings back memories. We used to pick tons (almost literally) of blueberries when we lived in the community. I still remember those hot August days and those fat, beautiful blue berries. πŸ˜€

  5. That looks great! Our blueberries are on such low bushes…it would be nice not to have to bend over so much! I LOVE the last picture…could have been from a magazine! Your kids are so cute too.

    One other thing you can try when you are out in the “wild” is just get some dirt wet, and put it on the sting, like you do with baking soda! I learned it this winter, and tried it this spring! My son was amazed at how quickly and effectively it worked! Thank you for reminding me about the plantain though. I had forgotten about that from last summer!

  6. Thanks!!!

    Tammy, Leif works from home, so children can stay with him, most times. πŸ™‚

    I had thought of the mud, but it was so sandy I wasn’t sure how that would work. it is amazing how many things God created can be so helpful when ill or like with bee stings for instance. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

