Now blackberries

Friends of our has had a bumper crop of
blackberries, so she gave us 12 litres last Monday.  I froze a
small basket and made jam with the rest.  First time making
blackberry jam and it is yummy!  Again I used “Pomona's pectin”
and followed the recipe listed for blackberries. Also tastes good if
made with other berries too, like blackberries and blueberries or
raspberries and blackberries.  Maybe I'll try that, raspberries
and blackberries, since my parents now have lots of raspberries and if
our friend still has blackberries.  πŸ™‚


 
Last basket of fresh berries and first jars of jam.  πŸ™‚

I just wanted to share something cute.  Nathaniel (age3.5) came up
to me the other day while I was getting lunch ready.  He told me
that he had an itch on his back, so I told him to scratch it and he
then exclaimed, “it isn't listening to me!”  I just had to
laugh!!  I gave him a back rub and it then went away.  
πŸ™‚

5 thoughts on “Now blackberries

  1. Those blackberries look yummy. Canning must be hard work. I always wanted to do it but havent tried . Carl has done pickles before and something else I forget.

  2. Yes, we had a good time. πŸ™‚ Actually canning is not so hard, once you are familar with the process, it is very easy. πŸ™‚

  3. Thanks for your comment! πŸ™‚ The pantyr does look nice, I would take a picture, but I store it all in our coldroom which is right under the front porch. It is not such a pretty room and the shelves are getting old, plus there are some spider webs hanging form the ceiling. 😦 It is a very narrow and dark room. LOL But the canned goods store well as does potatoes etc…

I love hearing from you!!

