Pears and More Pears

Today we finished up canning the
pears.  Pears are not hard to do.  First I wash as many jars
as I think I might need and then I get a big bowl ready and pour into
the bowl one can of pineapple juice and about the same amount of water.
So half pineapple juice and half water.  The pineapple juices
helps the pears keep their colour.

I'll first start with the
picture of my sweet boy after we had carried the heavy bushel
upstairs.  He so willingly came to my call for help. 

So here I am all ready to start peeling and cutting out the cores
etc…  If  working by myself  I will peel a number of
pears and then cut them up.  I first cut them in quarters, cut out
stem and seeds and them slice again.  The girls wanted to try
cutting instead of peeling, so I let them try today.  They did an
excellant job too.

I peeled and cut, R cut them.  She enjoyed it, but did ask if she could stop after a while.  ๐Ÿ™‚

Here is my big helper, she did well.  I'm so thankful for all the help she can give me.

Benjamin was getting fussy, it was getting close to his naptime. 
I thought I would put him in the Ergo carrier I have, he loves to be in
it.  ๐Ÿ™‚  Can't you tell?!?!

Could not resist showing you this one!

Ok, now back to pears.  I have already added the sweetener, today
I used honey, I never measure, I just squeezed the honey in.  Last
time I used sugar and it was alittle less than 1/4 cup per jar.  I
use my knife here to remove all of the air pockets.


 
I wiped the tops of the jars and now they are ready to have the lids and rings screwed on.

All ready to be canned!  I would love to buy a stainless steel
steam canner, but until I find one, this stock pot works well.  So
once I see steam coming out from under the lid, I set the timer for 25
minutes.

The finished product! 

4 thoughts on “Pears and More Pears

  1. Saw this from Tammy’s post. I’ve seen your name on LJ and we are also on the same circle letter so feel like I kind of know who you are. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m amazed by all you do.
    I really enjoy canning and we have a Back to Basic’s Steam Canner. It isn’t stainless steel but I love how it works. You only have to put about 8 cups of water on the bottom and then the lid goes on top. The one thing I don’t like is that the new canning jars out are a little shorter and fatter so I can only fit six in instead of seven. Thankfully we have enough of the older ones that I didn’t have to use them this year.
    God bless,
    Lindsey S.

  2. Ok, sorry about that I totally forgot to mention about how long I steam them for. I edited the entry. For about 25 minutes.

    Thanks Lindsay! Nice to see you here too!

I love hearing from you!!

