Updates of sorts

Ok, so I thought I would share a
bit of what has been happening here in our part of the world the past
month or so.  To start we will go all the way back to around the
middle of September.  At that time we went away or a week to the
States.  First to Ohio and then on to Virginia.  We met new
friends in both places and were so blessed by our time with them. 
In Ohio we met the L family, Tammy L has a website- tammysrecipes.com 
We spent two nights with them and had such a wonderful time of
fellowship and she served delicious food too.  πŸ™‚   The
children got along well and had lots of fun with their two small boys.
It is such an encouragement for me to meet other families who are
living for the Lord and desiring to raise their children for Him. 
I was blessed with our time together and I, actually we all look
forward to visiting them again sometime.  Here Tammy wrote on her blog about our visit as well.  (with pictures)

After Ohio we made the long drive to Virginia.  We have an atlas
on our computer which showed that it would be just over an 8 hour
drive.  Well, we didn't arrive until about 11 that night and that
was after driving for 12 hours!  That was without getting lost and
just making very quick stops too.  The children travel very well,
which is a blessing.  Anyway, after a long day on the road we were
met with a sweet smile and a warm welcome.  In the room we slept
in, there was a small gift bag on each bed, with a name of each
one.  There are a small gift for each of us, such a thoughtful
welcome and of course the children were delighted.  πŸ™‚  The
W. family were very hospitable and pleasant to be with.  This was
our first time meeting, but it was like visiting with friends we had
already met!  Kasey and I had met on MOMYS
In the spring we had done a secret sisters thing and she had been given
my name.  Since that time we kept in touch and our friendship just
blossomed from there.  We have many things in common, a few being
that we are both going to turn 30 this November, we were married the
same year, we homeschool, we are stay at home moms and we love the
Lord.  Anyway, we spent 5 days together and had such a wonderful
time.  We went hiking and canoeing, we also visited the horses,
(we were hoping to ride them ,but it didn't work out)  and just
visited and had a wonderful time.  The children got along well
with their 5 children, once they overcame their shyness.  πŸ™‚ 
We had some laughs about us coming all the way from Canada to stay with
people we had never met!  We have great memories and the children
talk of going back to visit the W. family again.

The week
after we came back, we went to the zoo for the day with the other
family from our local homeschooling group.  We had pleasant day
enjoying the animals and just having a great time as a family. 
The weather was lovely, there were a couple of time that is looked like
it might rain, but if didn't so we were thankful.  The night
before, I set the alarm for 5:45am and then went to bed.  When I
prayed before going to sleep, I asked the Lord to wake me up, just in
case the alarm didn't ring.  Well, I did wake up a couple of times
during the night and right at 5:45am I woke up and saw the time! 
I jumped out of bed, still thinking the alarm might ring.  It was
then I realized that the clock of showing that it was 5:45PM not
AM.  I was just so thankful to the Lord for answering my prayer.
It just again reminded me that He is faithful even in the little
things!  πŸ™‚

Then after that, I was busy with canning
pears, which I already shared about and I also had a afternoon of
making and canning applesauce.  Then with schoolwork and household
duties, the day turned into weeks and before I ken it a month had
slipped by.  I'll be sharing pictures over the next week or
too.  Hopefully sooner than later, but I'll just have to see how
the evenings go this week.  πŸ™‚

Oh, yes before I forget, the girls and I went to a concert last night.  Featured were Men of Praise and Musica Sacra Chorus
Now we have heard the Musica Sacra Chorus a few times now and each time
I receive such a blessing.  I just love the meaningful hymns they
sing, it is just beautiful and so uplifting.  So again last night
I was blessed and just inspired.

Anyway God is good!  We are so blessed!!

5 thoughts on “Updates of sorts

  1. Tanya,
    It sounds like you guys have been very busy and had a blast at it! I would love to be able to meet some of my friends like you in person. I am so glad ya’ll got to have a good time and good fellowship with some like-minded families. It seems very hard to find like-minded families for some reason. Anyway, I enjoyed this post of current events. Thanks for sharing!
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda πŸ™‚

  2. Bri loves that both she and Sarah have been to virginia :). I’m glad you had such a neat time, maybe we will meet some day as well :).

  3. You just never know, Leif mentioned something about meeting all of you sometime! πŸ™‚

    I’ll share with Sarah what Bri said. πŸ™‚ We have to send some letters off to you. πŸ™‚

  4. I'm Kasey in VA! If any of you are even able to meet Tanya and her family, you will be abundantly blessed. They are an amazing God-fearing family who is sincere in their desire to serve the Lord. We are very glad to be able to call them "friends"!!!

I love hearing from you!!

