Homemaking and more

So this week is just about over and
it was filled with our weekly Monday afternoon Bible study with my
neighbour, school everyday, piano lessons, swimming lessons and house
cleaning and eating.  πŸ™‚  Today, the children were willing
little workers, because I told them we were going to take a trip to
Pathway Publishers (local Amish Bookstore) when we got our work
done.  As it turned out dh needed the van this afternoon, so we
went in the morning while Benjamin had his nap.  That worked out
well.  πŸ™‚

I have been reading the book by Elizabeth
George titled “A Woman's High Calling”.  It is a wonderful book
and if I can only remember it all and put it into practice.  This
last chapter is about the home.  Our calling is to the home, to be
a homemaker.  Here is a quote. “Homeworkers' describe the active housewife,  whose labors are beyond measure and whose efforts will bless the lives of her children and husband in countless ways.”  (H. Kent Jr)

Also I would like to share some thoughts from Elizabeth George.

“If our home is a ministry, shouldn't that ministry become a
passion?  Shouldn't our feelings and emotions be involved when it
comes to the people and place we love?  And shouldn't our work be
done passionately? Shouldn't our labors be labors of love?”


Wow, gave me much to ponder upon.

“When
we get up every morning with a fresh prayers for our for our home in
our heart, and a burning passion for building our home in our soul,
when we acknowledge the priority, and pledge to better the lives of the
people at home by bettering the place of home, and then practice the
many task that such love requires, in time we master the skills of
homemaking.”

I'll share more as I continue to read this chapter.  I just wanted to share a little bit , since I didn't blog anything yet this week.

Oh yes, we raked leaves too, so I'll post a few pictures from that,
once I take put them here on the computer.  I also have a few
other pictures I wanted to share.  It will all come next week I
hope. 

5 thoughts on “Homemaking and more

  1. Tanya,
    That sounds like a really good book that I probably need to read too! ;D I’m glad to hear that you all have been busy with the joy of life. I look forward to seeing you new pictures.
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda πŸ™‚

  2. A local Amish bookstore? What fun!!! I love books but you can’t go into just any bookstore anymore. I usually shop online unless I can get it at Lee’s store.
    I was really inspired by the thought of homemaking with passion as well, how true!

  3. Yes, Amish bookstore and it is also where they do publishing too. The children love going there, if only we could buy more books. LOL πŸ™‚

  4. Books are such a weakness of mine. If I have “extra” money that is often where it goes ;). And now that Bri and Tori are getting older we have three wish lists to choose from :). Lee just *loves+ moving boxes and boxes of books when we move ;).

I love hearing from you!!

