Decluttering

I have been wanting to declutter for sometime now, so I just touched the tip of the iceberg this past week.    I went through the closet in our bedroom and was able to put 2 large bags and 1 small bag into the goodwill bin.  Now we have space in our closet!!  Like I said I could go through it again and still get rid of some things, but I am just happy to have a least gotten started on my way with decluttering. 

Here was what the boys room looked like before I went in a did some cleaning, decluttering and organizing.  Now I do make the bed everyday, just hadn’t gotten to it yet that day.   It is my goal to have the children make their beds, but we are still working on that.


Baby’s part of the room


Cuddling corner… and yet messy.


I think this looks a lot better!


Restful spot now…


Baby’s area


My friend Tammy had some good posts as well on decluttering.  Both times we have gone to visit them I have left inspired to do some decluttering here in our home.  Having to much stuff around is not restful or peaceful.  Also when the children have to many things, it can get very overwhelming come clean up time!! 

One of my goals for the new year is to declutter!!

Any of you have some good decluttering tips or ideas, or stories to share?  I’d love for you share them here with me!

Here are just a couple of quotes I came upon just now.

"In a sense, clutter is the end result of procrastination."  Jeff Campbell
 

Nothing is so fatiguing as the eternal hanging on of an uncompleted task.
-William James

Blessings to all of you!

P.S Did you noticed the snowflakes hanging from the ceiling?  One afternoon the children had a plesant time cutting out snowflakes, they wanted to hang them up, so we got some thread and hung up some in th boys room and some in the girls room.  They made quite a number of them, so they are sprinkled through the house.  We have no snow outside, but we do inside!! 

10 thoughts on “Decluttering

  1. Tanya,
    All of the pictures are great and you did an awesome cleaning/decluttering job. Now, maybe I can use your before and after pictures for motivation. I would have to pre-clean my kid's rooms to take a before picture! If I didn't you all would probably faint at the site of them. LOL!!
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda πŸ™‚

  2. I am so frustrated with my blogger account, it is not working or letting me sign in still! Anyhow, it looks like you did alot of work! Great job! Martha

  3. Your rooms look great! Hey, we should all do some before and after cleaning pictures, as inspired by you! That would be fun:)
    Your birthday girls nightgowns are so pretty:)
    ~Sarah:)

  4. Amanda, you should see my girls room. I should post the picture from there… πŸ™‚

    Sorry, Martha, that would be frustrating! 😦

    Shelby, I have lots more to do too. I'll need the motivation to I think… πŸ™‚

    Sarah, that is a good idea! I do find it rewarding to see the results afterwards!

    Thanks for the comments, I love hearing from you!!

  5. I would love to see before pics of yourgirls room… I bet Bri and Tori have them beat on the level of mess ;). Maybe I'll do before and after pictures of mygirls room on my blog..there is no way I would post a before without an after the way it looks right now ;)…

  6. That looks great! I am constantly decluttering. I can get it to where I think I can't part with anything more and then the next week it seems like the stuff has multiplied!! Your boys' room looks cozy and tidy!!

  7. I may need to get encouragment from you. πŸ™‚ Sometime just the thought overwhelms me!! I need to tackle another area this week. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

