Cookie Baking Time

So this afternoon I decided to make cookies.  Our cookie jar has been empty for a few weeks now, a good reason to bake cookies!  The girls had gone outside to play and I thought it would be nice to bake cookies with just the boys this time.   The first recipe I used I got from the new MOMYS Cookbook.  After I had them all mix, I wasn’t sure if they were going to turn out, seemed to be a bit dry so I added another egg, some more oil and sugar.  They do taste good, so I’ll try them again and see how they turn out with just following the recipe.  I also had a bag of  chipits milk chocolate chips, so I follow the recipe on the back and made another batch of cookies.  Now the cookie jar is filled  and then some.

Here my little man had just woken up from a little nap on the couch, so he is quite serious here.  Baby is trying to see what big brother is doing.


There now he is awake.  A sweet smile…..


Baby was playing with this wooden spoon, he is a typical boy alright, sticking it into cracks. 


All done baking.  The cookies from the MOMYS Cookbook on the left and Chewy milk Chocolate cookies on the right.


Here is the recipe "The Best Chewy Oatmeal Cookies" take from the MOMYS Cookbook

1 c. brown sugar
1 c. granulated sugar
1/2 c.  soften butter
1/2 c. oil
2 large eggs
1 t. vanilla
1 t. baking powder
1/2 t. salt
1 c. flour
4 c. quick oats
1 c. chopped dates
1 c.  chopped nuts
1 c. coconut

Preheat oven to 360F.  Cream sugars, butter, oil and eggs together.  Add vanilla, baking powder, salt, flour and quick oats; mix well.  Stir in dates, nuts and coconut.  Drop by spoonfuls on ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake for 6 – 7 minutes ( recipe said 10 – 12 minutes, but I can never bake my cookies as long as the recipe calls for).  Do not over bake. 

So this was my first recipe to use so far from my new cookbook!  There are some other yummy sounding recipes I’m hoping to try too. 

9 thoughts on “Cookie Baking Time

  1. Oh, you got one of those MOMYS coook books! I thought they sounded so neat when Crystal was selling them! πŸ™‚ Your cookies look lovely! πŸ™‚

  2. Your cookies look yummy and your helpers are adorable:0) I think my little guy and I will bake some cookies today, he loves to help out with baking. If its not too late put my name in to win that beautiful apron,thanks! ~God Bless~
    ~Krystal

  3. Tanya,
    Your cookies look delicious. I just love the boys' sweaters. They are so cute!
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda πŸ™‚

  4. Yes, Tammy I bought one, when I saw it again on Crystal's blog and went and asked Leif and he said sure. πŸ™‚

    I am making muffins from the cookbook today. πŸ™‚

    Again Thanks everyone for your comments.

  5. those cookies look sooo delish!

    I am on a baking hiatus right now, because I'm on a diet. I can't bake and not eat so no baking for me…

I love hearing from you!!

