Celebrating Marriage

Just a note….  this is short and doesn’t seem like much!!   But God is good!!

On June 29,1997,  we were married.  After having know each other since I was 8 and dh 11.  Of course it wasn’t until much later, that I discovered that I liked him and wanted to be his wife someday.  When I was 17 or 18 (sorry right now I can’t remember!) we were engaged.  I do remember the day, it was a warm summer day, and when dh came for a visit and wanted to talk with my parents, I just knew what is was about.  I was thrilled of course!!  Our engagement was long, but finally on another  warm summer day we were married.  We had a very simple wedding ceremony with lots of music and good food afterwards.  It was a joyful day, seems almost like yesterday and yet it almost  feels like it was long ago.  Not sure if that makes sense!  

This was a verse we chose for our wedding.


Commit thy way unto the Lord;
trust also in him;
and he shall bring it to pass.
Psalm 37:5

Here is the words to one of the songs sang for us.  I still love hearing this song!


Covenant of Love


 I am here to have and to hold
Here to help you be strong
If for me it is better or worse
Wherever you are I belong
Wherever you are I belong

Chorus:
Covenant of love
Uniquely formed
As a gem of beauty in the sun
Tailor- made to capture all of my heart
You and I together now as one.

Here I stand for richer, for poorer
Taking on me all your needs
I’ll be there in sickness and in health
My wealth will be your relief
My wealth will be your relief

 I am here to love and cherish
Joyful when treasure by you
I’ll be there until death will us part
Constant to aid you in truth
Constant to aid you in truth

by Marla King


Now my handsome dh and I


I truly am blessed for my dear and wonderful husband.  My dad gave a little speech for us, he did well and it was very good.  I was nervous for him, because he finds it hard to speak in front of so many people, but the Lord gave him the words to say.  Afterwards many came up to him and told him they were blessed by what he shared.  I can’t remember all that he said right now, I’ll have to watch our wedding video again sometime.   We have been happily married for just over 9 1/2 years now, each year just keeps getting sweeter than the year before.  God is good!!

About my dress, my sil and I sewed it and finished it only a couple of days before the big day.  I had a very hard time deciding what I wanted for a wedding dress, but I was pleased with how it turned out. 

We are so blessed!  Treasure each day with your husband and be a blessing to him. 


Delight thyself also in the LORD;
and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.
 Ps. 37:4

To read more "Celebrating Marriage" stories, take a peek here
Thanks Monica for doing this!

11 thoughts on “Celebrating Marriage

  1. Its been awhile 🙂 I was really touched by this,in fact there were tears,especially the part about your Dad.Your post is so sweet and I am so happy that you and your husband do treasure each other. My husband and I look forward to each day we have together and we feel so blessed. I agree with you that each year just seems to get better. Thanks for sharing with us!
    ~God Bless
    ~Krystal

  2. I was reading through the wedding story blog links. I knew your story would be one of the tops! What a beautiful picture, couple, story, example and testimony to God. I love the dress by the way — modest and feminine.
    <br>
    <br>Thanks for sharing,
    <br>Letisha — maybe some time I will post one as well!

  3. Thanks for participating! 🙂 God is so good and I was encouraged by your uplifting words about your marriage. I'm impressed you made your dress! Wow! And, your flowers were so beautiful as well…

    Have a great day!

  4. What a sweet, sweet story, Tanya! I love your dress, how special that you were able to make it yourself and with your sil. The song was beautiful and I love that you have known each other for so long. It was just so sweet :)!

I love hearing from you!!

