Strawberries And More Strawberries

This morning the children and I went strawberry picking.  The strawberries were plentiful and fun to pick.  The children had such fun.  Benjamin enjoyed eating the berries, at first he was wanting to help himself from my basket, but then I showed him the berries on the plants, so he started to pick his own.

I thought I would share the recipe and some pictures to go along with it.  For jam I use Pomona’s Universail Pectin.  It is wonderful to use and you can use as much or as little sugar or honey you want to sweeten the fruit with. 

 

Strawberry Jam

4 c. mashed berries
1/2 – 1c. honey or 3/4 – 2c. sugar
2 t. pectin powder
2 t. calcium water

Prepare calcium water – Put 1/2 t calcium powder and 1/2 c. water and mix well.  (This comes with the pectin.)

Prepare fruit.  Add calcium water to mashed fruit.  Measure sugar or cold/room temperature honey into a separate bowl.  Thoroughly mix pectin into the sugar or honey.  Bring fruit to boil, add pectin-honey or pectin-sugar and stir vigorously 1 -2 minutes to dissolve pectin.  Return to boil and remove from heat.  Fill jars, wipe rims clean and put on the lid and rings.  Steam can for 10 minutes, remove and let jars cool. 


So here are 3 of the 4 baskets we picked, I had wished I had brought more baskets with me,so that we could have picked more!   I plan to pick more tomorrow after the girls piano lessons. 

 


 

Many hands make light work!  It wasn’t long until the berries were washed, mashed and ready for the pot.

 

 

Here I have the sugar measured out.  I like to stir in the pectin in a smaller amount of sugar, then I know it is well mixed.

 

 

Filling the jars….

 

 

All finished!  Sometimes it likes to separate, I’m still trying to figure out why.

 

 

Now I’m off to read the Keepers At Home magazine that arrived today in our mailbox! 

9 thoughts on “Strawberries And More Strawberries

  1. Tanya,
    Looks Delicious! I wish I were brave enough to attempt canning. I don't have any of the things you need to can though, so I guess I ought to start there.
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Once again, they look delicious! I miss our strawberry jam already! Question: out of your recipe how many jars did you fill? It seems like you got more jars than I did!

    Enjoy the jam… we are picking blueberries soon!

    Letisha

  3. The strawberries are delicious! We just got back from picking 6 more basket fulls. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Letisha, I made 4 1/2 recipes and I got 12 jars with a tiny bit extra. ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to blueberries too, that will be another month yet, but they also make yummy jam! Were you able to buy the Pomona's Pectin??

  4. Okay, thanks for explaining. I wish I had picked more strawberries than I had to make extras.

    Because of our lack of rain, blueberries will not be ready to pick for 3 more weeks.

    Letisha

  5. You got your issue!
    Your jam looks so good! I wish I could have picked some berries this year, oh well! Maybe I will get some cherries this year! I have never made Cherry jam, but I think it would be good! And Plum jam is good too!

  6. I had that happen once and I believe it is because the pieces of fruit are so big. You can do one of two things for it: you can make a puree by putting the fruit through a strainer, or you can stir it for ten minutes afer removing it from the heat before putting it into the jars. That allows it to thicken up some and the fruit to remain distributed through the syrup better. I don't know how well that second option works, because I have chosen the first one. I run the fruit through the victorio strainer, which gets out the seeds and makes a nice puree. I have not had any separation since I have started doing that. But, when you do have separation, you can just dump it out and stir it up and put it back in the jar. That's what I always did. I'm sure it was yummy. And, yes, I know this is really late, but I just discovered your blog and thought I would comment on this.

    In Christ,

    Ginny
    randvfarmstead@embarqmail.com
    http://randvfarmstead.blogspot.com

  7. I had thought maybe the fruit was to big, but it doesn't happened everytime, so I'm not sure. Thanks for your advice, I'll have to keep that in mind. I hoping to make some blueberry and also some peach jam soon.

I love hearing from you!!

