What do I Want for My Children?

I first heard this song when I was in my early teens.  I then thought is was a beautiful song and it gave me much food for thought.  Now I’m a mommy and have been blessed with 4 soon to be 5 little ones.  What is it that we want for our children?  I think the last line sums it up very beautifully.   "I want them to walk with Him, I want them to be like Him!"  Yes, it is my heart’s desire that our children learn to love and serve the Lord with all of their heart, soul and mind and will bring Him honour and glory all the days of their lives. 

 

Lord, fill us with wisdom to train up our dear children in the way that they should go.

 

What do I want for my children?

What do I want for my children?
Do I seek for them world-wide fame?
Do I treasure for them wealth and riches,
Do I want their lives to be just like a game?

What do I want for my children?
Is it power and wisdom and might?
Do I want for them untold blessings:
Do I want everything to go just right?

I’ll tell you what I want for my children; a heart full of peace from above,
A life of serving others, a heart of patience and love.
I want them to know my Saviour, to be free from the power of sin-
This is want I want for my children,
I want them to walk with Him, I want them to be like Him!

By Ruth Andersen and Bette Sloat

 

"Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old,

he will not depart from it."  Proverbs 22:6

 

 

2 thoughts on “What do I Want for My Children?

  1. do you have the music for this song? It was song at my daughter’s baptism, and I would so love to hear it again at my granddaughter’s baptism!

I love hearing from you!!

