Bluejay Adventure

Just over a week ago, I was cleaning up the kitchen after breakfast and I heard a thud on our upstairs bathroom window.    My first thoughts were that a bird had flown into the window.  Sure enough I went out on our deck and saw a young bluejay sitting on the patio below the bathroom window.  I called to the children to come and see the little bird.  Sarah then went down and was able to pick the young bluejay up.  He or she was just stunned and didn’t seem to be hurt.  Sarah carried the little bird up to the deck so we could all have a look and admire it.  It wasn’t long before it started to make some noise, its parents were calling to it as well.  It flew from Sarah’s hand to my husband’s arm.  We then carried it over to one of our trees and sat the bluejay on the fence which was just below the tree.  Soon it was off again with its parents.  The children enjoyed having a close up view of the little creature and we were so thankful it was not hurt.

Sarah admiring the little bird….


Benjamin was very interested too. 

Seeing the little bird reminded me of a little childrens song we love to sing.

God See the Little Sparrow Fall


God sees the little sparrow fall,
It meets His tender view;
If God so loves the little birds,
I know He loves me, too.


Refrain:
He loves me, too, He loves me, too,
I know He loves me, too;
Because He loves the little things,
I know He loves me, too.

He paints the lily of the field,
Perfumes each lily bell;
If He so loves the little flow’rs,
I know He loves me well.

God made the little birds and flow’rs,
And all things large and small;
He’ll not forget his little ones,
I know He loves them all.


Remember!  God cares and loves you too!!

5 thoughts on “Bluejay Adventure

  1. Oh wow :)! What neat pictures! And what a great chance to admire our heavenly Father's creativity :). I'm going to call thegirls in to see, they'll love it!

  2. That is very neat, I absolutely love checking out different kinds of birds. We have 16 acres of our 22 are woods and the children and I love to take nature walks and go bird watching. Although I could do without all the deer nibbling on my garden:0)
    God Bless!
    ~Krystal

  3. We had a similar experience with a young blue jay recently. My son spied a hawk attacking a jay's nest that we had on our property. He scared it away, but not before it was able to make off with one of the young. The remaining bird fell from the nest and scurried up under our patio. The kids watched over it & took some pictures. They constructed a pulley out of some rope & placed the bird into a small basket. They raised it up, just next to it's nest and waited to see if it would hop into it's home, but he didn't. It fluttered away. We suspect to a nearby tree where his parents were calling him. All we could do is hope that he survived the night!

    I stirred with excitement as I read (and then sang) the lyrics to the song "He Loves Me Too". I haven't heard it in years; not since I was in Sabbath school. It was a favorite of mine when I was a little girl and I remember requesting it often in class. Thanks for the reminder!

  4. When you were here and we had the sparrow. Although your little bird fared a good bit better! Those are neat pictures. Makes me miss all your sweet family even more!

  5. Debbie, I hope your little bluejay survived too. That is neat about the song, it was a favourite of mine too. 🙂

    Kasey, we miss you all too. 🙂

I love hearing from you!!

