Pickles and Salsa Part 2

First I’ll start with the salsa recipe….

Picante Salsa

4 12/ lbs.  ripe tomatoes (peeled)
3 canned whole green chilies (chopped) ( I have used fresh or dried too)
1 large spanish onion
1 large green pepper
1 meduim red pepper
3 -6 canned whole jalapeno peppers (I have used fresh too)
5 1/2 oz tomato paste
3/4 vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar)
1/4 c. brown sugar
1 T. pickling salt
2 t. paprika
1/2 t. garlic powder or 2 fresh cloves, crushed.  ( I use fresh)

Combine all ingredients.  Bring to boil, uncovered over medium heat, stirring occasionally.  Boil gently for about 60 minutes, stirring occasionally until thicken to desired consistency.  Close to the end of cooking, taste to see if you have the desired hotness.  Fill jars and seal.  (I steam can for 10 minutes.)

Doesn’t it look yummy!


Filling up the jars


Here are the finished jars of bread and butter pickles and salsa.  I got 12 jars of bread and butter pickles and 10 jars of salsa total.


Here is a group picture of everything I have canned the past two days. 


Yesterday, the girls and I did up another hamper of dill pickles.  It feels so rewarding to see the finished jars on the counter and hearing the pops as they seal.  I’ve now done all the pickles and relish I want to do.  I’ll be making more salsa and canning just tomatoes too.  I’ll be canning peaches very soon and peach jam and then comes pears.  I also hope to get in some blueberry picking and make a batch of jam with some blueberries too.  Lots to do and I hope to get it all done before our new baby arrives.  I also do applesauce, but that will be after the baby comes and I know my mom will come and help with that.  Applesauce making is something the children love to help with too.  I’ll blog about it when we do it. 

She…. worketh willing with her hands. Pro. 31:13
5 thoughts on “Pickles and Salsa Part 2

  1. Lots of work! That does make you feel good to see it all though!
    I need to make pickles also! Did you grow all the cucumbers yourself?

  2. Lots of work, yet very rewarding. πŸ™‚

    No, I didn't grow the cukes, I don't have a big enough garden. I bought them at a local market. I'm hoping to have a bigger garden in the near future though. πŸ™‚

    The tomatoes are from our garden. πŸ™‚ Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Aug. 24, 2007 at 6:20 PM

  3. Tanya,
    Your pickles look fabulous! I've never done pickles before. I definitely want to.

    This year we had such a nice crop of cucumbers that I thought I would try to pickle some of them. However, when I got out my Ball canning book & started to read all the procedures, I immediately got intimidated. I couldn't possibly see how I could do it w/o a crock. I don't even know where to find a pickling crock. Any advice? Also, it looks like it takes days of soaking in brine. I'm used to devoting one whole day to canning.

    I'm sure it's not as bad as it seems, but having never done it before, I'm a bit intimidated by the whole process. I sure wish I could have been there the day you did yours. I could have used an experienced lady to show me the ropes. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and leaving me your kind words. Have a great week!!!
    http://www.seasons-of-the-heart.blogspot.com

  4. your canned goods look lovely. I am new to canning, just did my first tomatoes this season. I used the open kettle method for those, I know its not recommended but my mom did it so why shouldnt I. Anyway, I wanted to try to make salsa but was not sure because I didnt know if the open kettle method was safe for them. You mentioned steam canned them for 10 minutes, can you describe the method for me? Thanks in advance.

I love hearing from you!!

