Kitchen Tip Tuesdays

Ok, my first time joining in on Kitchen Tip Tuesday with Tammy’s Recipes.
 A good way to start the year I think. 

For this week’s Kitchen Tip Tuesdays, let’s post a kitchen-related question or problem, and solicit help from others! Sound fun? πŸ™‚

Ok, my question is this…  I’m getting a new stove tomorrow and it is a flat top stove.  I’m excited!!  I just have a question, any tip I need to know for keeping it clean??  Anything I should know before hand??  Share away!!  Thanks! 

10 thoughts on “Kitchen Tip Tuesdays

  1. You can purchase special stove cleaner – some may come with your new stove.

    Also, flat top stoves are more fragile than you would think. My friend's mom and my own mom both smashed the tops of theirs. Don't keep anything heavy over the stove – my mom did, and when she accidentally knocked it over, she broke the top of the stove. It was not a cheap repair!

    That being said, I love flat top stoves and wish I had one! Enjoy!

  2. I've heard people swear by both Bar Keeper's Friend and plain old baking soda. I will also be acquiring a flat top stove within the month, so I will be trying these out soon, too.

  3. My husband surprised me a few years ago by purchasing a flat-top stove. We had been thinking of getting one (the house we were renting didn't have any appliances so we had to purchase them). I agree with the other comment, you will probably get a little bottle of special cleaner (for glass cook tops) with your new stove. A little goes a long way – mine lasted me for almost a year! But I was a student and didn't have a family to cook for. πŸ˜‰ I did purchase more special cleaner, but I tried Bar Keeper's Friend recently and it works great!! It's much cheaper, too, so keep that in mind. Plain old table salt works great on a burned on stain that is resisting removal.
    Flat tops are expensive to replace – the nice man who sold us ours told us it costs about $400 to repair the surface – about as much as the stove cost! Did they tell you not to use cast iron on your stove? This is probably why – not because cast iron will wreck your surface, but because it is heavy and may break the glass if dropped. (Incidentally, I've never used cast iron on my cook top but I read online that many, many people do and it works great!)
    I really like my stove – it's quick to clean up. The one thing I don't like about it, however, is if something boils over (say I am boiling potatoes) the spill spreads across the top. There's no pan to collect it. That can be annoying, but I just try to watch my pots while they are boiling. πŸ™‚

    Vicky
    http://www.microgal.blogspot.com

  4. My MIL has one… I have never used it personally… But I know she really does not like it. But she has said it is wonderful to clean. One big problem like the cast iron if you have a pot that may be a little warped, it will not conduct heat on the flat tops. You pots have to be completely flat to be able to conduct the heat thru the pan.
    Congrats on the new appliance. I love getting new kitchen stuff!
    Sue

  5. Thank you all for commenting, I really appreciate it. πŸ™‚ The stove was delivered here this morning at 8:00am, it looks great and so far I'm very happy with it. I have only cooked one meal on it so far. LOL I was already thinking, I'll watch my pots, so they don't boil over, but I know it will happen. I might get sidetrack with the little ones or something. πŸ™‚ My stove didn't come with any cleaner, so I'll look and see if I can find Bar Keeper next time I'm out shopping. I do use a cast iron frying pan, but only for frying eggs, so I'll just be extra careful. Anyway, thanks again!

  6. I have one, it came with my house. My parents have had one for several years. I don't care for them very much. I am planning on replacing mine at the earliest opportunity. To clean scortched on food, just use dish soap and baking soda, and a wet sponge. work the soap and baking soda into a paste. Rub on scortch marks in a circular motion. They clean up quick. I use cast iron on mine all the time- I am careful not to drop them though. Also, I heard you can't can on them. I can all summer so this was a draw back for me. I find the heating elements cycle on and off unnecessarily. It takes so long to boil water! I pray yours works out better for you!
    JB
    http://www.titus2journey.blogspot.com

  7. thanks JB for your comments. I do hope it works well for canning, I do a fair amount of that all summer too. I gues, I'll find out after next summer. I do have some friends that can and have never heard any complaints and they both have flat top stoves.

    Thanks again! Sorry to hear you have not enjoyed your stove,

  8. Well, I don't know how much help this will be seeing that I don't have or have never owned a flat top, but I work for a couple that has one and I have cooked on theirs. They told me that they can't use normal pots & pans on their stove. The cook extensively with Corning ware dishes. Also, the man told me that he learned that if they ever have anything burnt on the stove top, not to use a scratch pad or any special cleaning solvent to try and take it up. He said a simple razor blade, lightly used, does the trick. Anything else leaves permanent scratches or it takes away the color.

    That's all the knowledge I have– limited as it is. πŸ™‚
    Debbie
    seasons-of-the-heart2.blogspot.com

I love hearing from you!!

