Our Monday Here

I was planning to join in on Crystal’s Making Your Home a Haven Challenge again today.  But since she isn’t doing it today, I decided I would still share about our Monday.

I did my morning routine and here is what I wrote out for our to do list for the day.

1. School
2. fold and put away diapers
3. kitchen clean up
4. start this washing laundry
5. start picking out pictures for printing
6. vacuum living room, dining room and kitchen
7. water change for fish
8. package apron

After the majority of school was finished and our oldest was just finishing up Language and Math, I went to work in the kitchen.  Most of the kitchen was neat, but this one counter.

N. happened to come into the kitchen when I was putting on my apron and right away he asked me what I was baking!  I told him I was cleaning up and he wondered if he could help me.  My first response was no, go and play.    Right away, I thought why did I say that!  I then told him yes, and he went and put his apron on and set to work.   I’m still woking on enjoying the children’s help and not thinking I can get it done so much faster by myself.  Yes, maybe I could get it done quicker, but having their company is sweet and we have a pleasant time of getting our work done and also they are learning in the process. 

A happy helper


I gave B. the job of putting the rolling pin away,
he thought is was great fun to discover how it worked.


Oh, this looks so much better now.


 Blessings to you as you make your home a haven!
Home Sweet Home!

5 thoughts on “Our Monday Here

  1. Lol, I can relate. I have a two year old who loves helping in the kitchen. My one year old also loves helping unload the dishwasher. I can do it a lot faster on my own, especially when the one year old hands me one fork at a time, but it's true, I want them to develop strong work ethics, which is not going to happen if I'm never letting them participate at a stage while they enjoy doing so! Glad you're still working on that lesson, so am I!

    Mama J.

  2. It looks like you had a great day. I am also learning to enjoy the help of the littles. Do you know how long it took to fold the clothes today? LOL… My 2 year old wanted to put her apron on and help too, it was precious. Your home looks so inviting. Thanks for sharing your day.

    Veronica *joyfulmom*

  3. It was encouraging to read about your kitchen cleanup. LOL…there are so many times when my first instanct is to say "no" and then later I wonder why I did that! Just two days ago my dd helped make stew for dinner (at 10 am). I was cutting vegetables and she was at her table doing math when she asked if she could help. At first I wanted to tell her to finish her math, but then I realized that she needs to know how to cook just as much as she needs to know how to finish math. Dinner was fabulous, and she was so proud. So, on that note, I appreciate you sharing how you finished your kitchen. And, yes, aren't rolling pins fun? (they work great for beating out feather bed covers as well….)
    I love reading your blog.
    Blessings,
    Rachel

  4. I was trying to figure out why 'Making Your Home a Challenge' didn't sound quite right… and then I realized it usually has 'Haven' in there where I've seen it before. πŸ™‚

    But enjoy having the little ones eager to help, even if it does take longer! If they don't start in earnest now, when they get big enough to be an big help they won't be so eager to do it! πŸ˜› They'll want to "go play" instead. πŸ˜‰

    http://strengthinquietness.blogspot.com

  5. Thanks Marissa! I missed that when I reread it! I was most likely typing with one hand and holding a baby in the other! πŸ™‚

    Thanks to the rest of you ladies for your comments. It is nice to know I'm not alone! πŸ™‚

    God bless you all!

I love hearing from you!!

