School and More

After our breakfast and morning chores; we sat down to school.  We actually finished up our chores in record time today and got a bit of an early start on school. 

Children busy at work…   

N. was practising writing his name out.  He really wants to write letters to send to people, but I keep telling him, he first needs to learn how to write all the letters of the alphabet first.  B. likes to be right where all the others are.


R. thinking hard. 


Usually baby is sleeping while we do school, but she woke up after a very short nap.  She is quite happy here as you can see.    This year we are using a lot of A Beka for our oldest, most has been going well, but I don’t care for their spelling book.  Here I was writing out some extra exercises for S. to do, so it will help her remember her spelling words.   I’m hoping it works and she can get better marks on her tests.


Sweet little boy!


After a while, N. wondered if he could listen to a Bible story.  This was given to us recently by some dear friends and our children have throughly enjoyed listening to the stories!


After lunch, since I had some dishes to wash, I decided it would also be a good time to make bread.  The boys had fun watching the bosch do the work for us.  πŸ™‚   Anything that moves or makes noise the boys find interesting! 


While the bread was rising, I tackled my messy desk!


Much better! 


After the desk cleaning, the bread was ready to shape into loaves.  When B. saw me with the bread dough, he went and got the rolling pen for me.  I let him help and he was happy!


I like to write up short to do list of things I hope to accomplish in my day.  Here is what I wrote down for today.

~school
~tidy my desk
~bread
~tidy main main level  thanks to my dear children, this got done
~fold clean laundry
~change boy’s bedding
~wash baby items
~Enjoy my family today!!

I added the last one, because yesterday I was feeling really irritated with even the smallest things.  I did not want another day like that!  Today went much better, it is amazing how when the heart is right, everything else is right too. 

I’ll end our day here with a few verses I read this morning.

My son, forget not my law; but let thine heart keep my commandments:  For length of days, and long life, and peace, shall they add to thee.  Let not mercy and truth forsake thee: bind them about thy neck; write them upon the table of thine heart:  So shalt thou find favour and good understanding in the sight of God and man.  Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.  In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.   Pro. 3:1-6
9 thoughts on “School and More

  1. Thank you for sharing a part of your school day with me. I am always glad to hear about other's personal experiences with curriculum. We are thinking of holding off on the Weaver for next year until we have 4 in school to make it more worth the money because it's great for multiple age levels. I'm also thinking of doing Rod and Staff for next year…decisions, decisions!

    I like your idea of using baskets for their books We have a small bookshelf but the books are always falling.

    Do you like your Bosch? Do you think it's worth the $? I was telling hubby that I might need one to make 100% ww bread since mine comes out so dense and hard no matter what I do unless it's 1/2 and 1/2. I have a Nutrimill and a nice mixer but it's not enough so it seems.

  2. I liked reading about your school day. I love the one with the baby smiling. She reminds me of my own bundle who is sitting on my lap right now. I have enjoyed keeping a to do list everyday. It helps me to get it out of my brain and onto paper. I know what you mean about adding enjoy my family to the list, thanks for the reminder. Have a great weekend!!
    Veronica(joyfulmom)

  3. She looks so happy and how neat for her to join the family for school.

    okay, few questions: I noticed baskets. Do you have individual baskets for the individual child's school work? How do you organize it all?

    Also, are the boys doing a leap frog? Do they have bible books or was that something different?

    Letisha

  4. Thegirls and I enjoyed the pictures :). Wow! Kaitlynn is getting so big :)!!! We do most of our school at the couch/coffee table, oddly enough thegirls concentrate better for some reason?!

  5. I miss having babies around! But I suppose God feels it's not the right time for us right now. I'm a little overwhelmed with the two I already have anyway! I've heard a lot of good feedback about A Beka. I've so much research to do before my children start school!

    Mama J

  6. It looks such a nice productive day! I like the last thing on the list, i have been struggling with that too and really praying for help to keep patience. I know it is something I cannot do on my own.

  7. I love reading your comments!

    I understand about school curriculum decisions!! πŸ™‚

    Also Martha, enjoying our families is something we can not do on our own, I agree! Daily I pray to the Lord for strength to face whatever may come my way. I love my family and wouldn't want to have it any different, but challenges do come our way. πŸ™‚

  8. I hope you see this! took awhile to find this part of the blog

    I see you were mentioning your dislikeness of R's spelling book. Might I suggest Scott Foresman? that was the author we had in public school. I was always a good speller. And I intend on using them when we get to schooling.

    Basically for 5 days they do different lessons w/20 words (I believe). On the 5th day is the test day. First day could be writing it in a sentence etc.

    Check out Ebay…and just type in Scott Foresman.

I love hearing from you!!

