Monday’s Making Your Home a Haven – Closet or space clean up


Crystal’s Monday Making Your Home a Haven is here.

I know just the space I’m going to tackle today, in my laundry room I have a pile of ironing that is needing my attention!  I just had a thought of giving the girls a job of cleaning up their closet too.   So I’ll be back later with some pictures and more about our day here.

    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ok, another Monday is coming to an end here.  The older ones are all tucked into bed and baby is here sitting on my lap.  She is content and happy to watch my fingers move.  πŸ™‚

I was able to tackle the ironing pile and get everything ironed and hung in their closets.  Feels so good to have that done, now I must work on staying caught up. 

Here is a before picture. We have a small room in the basement that serves as our laundry and sewing room, plus I do the ironing there and the freezer sits in there as well.  So it is a multi purpose room! 



After picture….  looks so much better.  I have a bunch of material out, because I need to iron it.  We are having a sewing bee here on Sunday to sew up some summer clothes for my girls!  Should be fun!!  I need to sometime soon go through and organize that shelve above the freezer….


Girl’s closet before….


……and after.

It was a pretty good day here.  School went well and in the afternoon I had time to organize a bit in the laundry room, sew some buttons on a couple of jumpers I sewed for baby and clean up the kitchen.  While sewing I had a toddler at my elbows trying to watch the machine sew.  He was cheerily singing away in his own toddler talk.  So sweet!  Also while I was cleaing up the kitchen, my 5 yr old helped me by putting the dishes away in the dish drainer.  He had an enjoyable time chatting with me.  Times like these, I’m remind on how much the children do like to help momy and plus it gives them a chance to chat with mommy.  I must not push them away and think I can do it so much faster by myself!  That is something I still trying to unlearn….. 


Blessings to you as you make your home a haven!

9 thoughts on “Monday’s Making Your Home a Haven – Closet or space clean up

  1. Hello! Hope your Monday is going well πŸ™‚ . My main assignment today is for my husband's business, so I am pretty tied up. Our house is getting messy and I am just trying to keep everyone on track with their routines and schoolwork. Struggling along, but at least we aren't too grumpy today πŸ™‚

    We took care of the children's closets on Friday, and that was nice to see. The kids like it too.

    Krista

  2. I just updated, Krista! πŸ™‚ Glad to hear you had a good day. πŸ™‚ If it helps you any, our house gets messy too. Seems to be never ending, we clean it up and 1 minute later is is a mess. 😦

  3. Hey you've been busy today! Isn't it a great feeling to get things accomplished? I actually forgot to check today's assignment. I remembered later this afternoon and thought maybe I can quickly tackle my closet but got sidetracked and didn't get to it. Oh well. I wonder what the next assignment will be for next Monday. It motivates me to get something done when I get involve in something like that.
    Have a good week in the Lord.
    Blessings,
    Jenelle

  4. Your sewing and laundry room looks great! It's such a good feeling to see a messy spot get put back in order.

    A sewing bee sounds like a lot of fun. Do you do these often? We don't have much community where we live, but if we did, I imagine that that would be the kind of thing we would like to do. I am just learning to sew, really, but I think that if I keep after it and gain a little more confidence, I am going to enjoy it a lot. Sewing was intimidating to me for the longest time!

    Krista

  5. you're so right! I am also trying to unlearn wanting the jon just over with. My 3 year old especially is big on helping with everything from laundry to baking to cleaning! I find myself thinking(and saying) not you again….and then I feel bad. So I'm working on it too!!
    did I ever invite you to my private blog? Email me if you are interested. It's in my profile

  6. I wish I could do stuff like sewing bees! I'm learning, very slowly, to sew. I only need to find a machine that works properly! I've been given several that were in various stages of disrepair. My mother-in-law is coming over tonight to see if there's anything she can do with the current hand-me-down. My girls love chatting, singing and helping too!

    Mama J

  7. This will be the first sewing bee we have done. It should be fun!! πŸ™‚

    mamato8 – thanks for commenting, I'll email you. πŸ™‚ It is encouraging to know I'm not alone. πŸ™‚

    Thanks everyone for your comments!!!Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Feb. 20, 2008 at 9:42 PM

I love hearing from you!!

