Sewing Bee & More


Our sewing bee went well!!  We were able to sew up 4 skirts, 3 dresses and 1 jumper. I need to do a couple of small things on the dresses, 2 need the buttons sewn on and the hemming done. We will have another sewing bee sometime soon, so that we can get some Sabbath dresses sewn and swimming suits. Also R. needs a couple of dresses and I have cullottes cut out for her too.  I would also like to sew up some aprons for the children too.  So I still have a long list of sewing to do!  It was fun to sew and chat. ๐Ÿ™‚  We had 4 sewing machines and 2 sergers working. 

The girls bake cookies while we mommy’s sewed! I was at first not sure how that would turn out, I imagined coming up to messy kitchen, but they did well and cleaned up after themselves. They had fun and now our cookie jar is full once again.  My friend has a daughter who is almost 12, she did well with keeping everyone in line and they all had a grand time. 

Now onto other news, B, had his first ER visit this morning.  Last night he had fallen and got a cut on his head, we were able to bandage it tightly last night, but today when we looked at it, it was gapping again.  So we decided we should make a trip to the ER.  After a long 2 hour  plus wait, we were finally seen by the doctor, he glued it shut and then we were off, all in about 10 minutes!  B. was a brave little boy, he didn’t like the doctor touching him, but didn’t make to much of a fuss.  I’m glad we could glue it shut and not have to do stitch it, that would have taken longer and I’m not sure, he would have been still for that!  We are thankful it wasn’t worse!!  Praise God!

Anyway, that is a bit of news from our home to yours.

Grace and peace be with you!
4 thoughts on “Sewing Bee & More

  1. Look at those sweet dresses and skirts! You really got a lot accomplished! All in one day! That's great. Maybe someday the girls in our family can have our own mini-sewing bee. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Our own B. (youngest boy) fell and cut his chin almost a month ago. It was his first trip to the ER, too. He wound up with six stitches. The scab finally fell away yesterday and we thought he was all better, but this morning he just fell again and hit the exact same spot on his chin! Luckily it wasn't deep, but he has scraped it open again and had to be bandaged. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Poor little guy! You can't see it unless he puts his chin up, but it will probably be quite a scar. Never a dull moment when you have children! I'm glad it wasn't worse.

    Krista

  2. I wish we had sewing bees going around here! Actually, I'd have to learn to sew at a much higher level than I do now to go to one anyway, but I want to learn someday. Our youngest had stitches in her chin a few months ago. She fell and put the film winder of a camera through her chin. It wasn't fun, and it wasn't pretty, but she was really good. They tell me it took two nurses to hold the poor kid down while they stitched. I just couldn't stay and watch! Poor kid. Now why didn't anyone think of glue? Lol, sounds a lot easier.

    Mama J

  3. Tanya,
    I'm so glad Benjamin is okay! I'm also very impressed with how much sewing you all got finished. You guys did an awesome job!
    Love & Blessings,
    (: Amanda ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

