An Afternoon In The Garden

Today we were able to get a good start on planting our garden.  It was wonderful to be out and working again with the soil.  This year I’m planting a larger garden over at my parent’s place.  They have a large garden plot and have not really used it the past few years, so I decided that I would like to plant there and then be able to put away most of our veggies for the winter.  I will have a small garden here at home, my kitchen garden.    My parents live about 7 mintues away, so it shouldn’t be to hard to get over there and keep it weeded. ( I hope!)  Plus the children love going to Opa’s and Oma’s! 

Here the girls are watering the tomatoes and marigolds.

Baby girl was happy for a while on the blanket.  She is always full of smiles.

Planting potatoes, I think that was their favourite thing to plant!

Our oldest taking a rest in the tree. 

Our youngest son helping his Opa plant corn.

Here the children were having fun in the hayfield, they were playing hide and seek. 

Baby girl holding a dandelion that big sister gave to her.

Taking a closer look…

Our toddler was so tired a supper time, that he fell right to sleep!

The garden; still a bit more to plant, but we got quite a bit done today. 

So that was our afternoon/evening.  We planted Roma tomatoes, one zucchini plant, leeks, onions and spanish onions, peppers, green and yellow beans,  potatoes, corn, peas, dill and squash.  Plus a couple rows of flowers.  We will plant more corn and we need to plant carrots and cucumbers yet.  Oh, I also have a few more tomatoes and peppers to plant too, but some of those will be here in my small kitchen garden.  I think I just might feel sore tomorrow, my arms already feel it from doing some tilling.

It was a good day!  Now tomorrow, I need to get the house back into order.  After a houseful yesterday for Sabbath and then ourside most of the day today, I need to spend tomorrow getting the house back into order, it is suppose to rain, so it shouldn’t be to hard to stay indoors.

Praise the Lord for this beautiful day! 

10 thoughts on “An Afternoon In The Garden

  1. What beautiful pictures of your afternoon planting. ๐Ÿ™‚ We would so like to have a garden…this is inspiring me!

  2. You all did a great job on your garden. Wow, it is big! We just have a small one out back and I did get some more planted but we're not done yet. Is that your hubby in the background? That is nice that he tilled it for you! I love the pictures of your family. The children look so happy and it's nice seeing everyone working together! Oh, I love bonnets too-your little one looks SO sweet in hers!

    God bless

  3. She always seems to be smiling! and what a sweet smile :)!
    I would love to have a nice garden like that, we can't even do a little garden here because we have to use all kinds of chemicals on the ground to keep the fire ants in check :(. We've done potted green peppers and such on the porch before. It looks like the children thoroughly enjoyed themselves! You got such neat pictures of everyone :)!

  4. Thanks Shelby! I did wonder if anyone would notice the new title. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Anyway, good to hear from you, again. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for the comments!

  5. What a big garden! Your little guy looks so cute asleep on the table there:) How funny:)

    I like your new blog name too!

  6. Your garden looks great! And the soil looks good, too ๐Ÿ™‚ . It's so nice to go out in the garden and pull weeds while you watch everything grow.

    Krista

  7. Just wanted to mention, that it is my dad tilling the garden. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Garden is gorwing well too! ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

