When Mommy’s Heart is Right…

Everything else will be right in the home too.  This morning, things here were going ok, sometimes stressful, but overall most was going fine.  But by noon, I was starting to feel really bothered with how the children were behaving, but mostly I was not liking the way I was reacting to what was going on around me.  So I went up to our bedroom and had a few minutes of prayer, asking the Lord to give me strength.  A verse that came to mind while I was praying, was "I can do all things, through Christ which strengthen me".   I can honestly say that after my time of prayer, I was able to come back down and things did go a lot better.  Sure the children were still needing guidance on their behavior, my oldest was still having some difficulties in math, but I was able to deal with things properly and all went well.  This thought came to mind,

When mommy’s heart is right, everything in the home will be right too.  


Shortly after that time I was reading a bit in my Bible, I have been following the Bible Reading plan in Hidden Wisdom and today’s reading was 1 Timothy 4, the verse that spoke to me was 1 Timothy 4:12, it was the second part that spoke to me.

"…. but be thou an example of the believers, in word, in conversation, in charity, in spirit, in faith, in purity."  

I desire for my children to see the Lord in me. The Lord shining through my speech, conversations etc…. in everything I do or say.  Anyway, those were thoughts that I had on my heart today and I just wanted to share it all with you too.

This afternoon, we had a productive one!  We made waffles, muffins and cookies.  The waffles came out of my MOMYS cookbook and they are delicious.  They are made with whole wheat flour and oats, plus the usual, eggs, milk, oil etc…  I’ll be making them again for sure. 

The muffins are from Tammy’s recipes, I made the Oatmeal Buttermilk Muffins with Raisins, they are so yummy and simple to make, I have made 6 batches so far, all in a weeks time too.  πŸ™‚  Ok, before you start thinking we must eat lots of muffins, we did have some teenage boys helping us with a job last week, so they enjoyed the muffins too. 

The cookies were chocolate oatmeal cookies, an old recipe of mine, but one of my favourites!  

It was a busy day and yes our oldest finished all the math she needed to do too.  Now I must be off and mix up a batch of granola, so I can put it into the oven to bake all night.

Blessings!


5 thoughts on “When Mommy’s Heart is Right…

  1. Thanks for sharing that. I too have days where it seems stressful but usually the biggest problem is the way I react!!! I just don't feel like it you know??? that kind of attitude is sure to ruin the entire day for the whole family!!! Taking a moment to pray alone is a life saver!! I'll have to remember that and thanks for that reminder!!!!!!!!!!
    i also made a recipe blog where I put up my large family friendly recipes. Thaought you might be interested! http://cookingwithlittles.blogspot.com

  2. I bet your house smelled good :).
    What a great reminder for all of us mommies and thank you so much for sharing that verse with us! I have read and heard it countless times but had never applied it to the example I must set for my children before. It is absolutely applicable! I will be copying it out and taping it to my mirror so that I am reminded first thing in the morning :). It has been getting hard to remember to react sweetly, especially as the heat rises down here and the little ones can't be outside too long so it gets really, really loud inside at times ;).
    Have a blessed day Tanya!

  3. It's true, Tanya. Praying really does a lot. Sometimes I realize that I just want to stay connected to the Lord. I need his help to stay on the right path. πŸ™‚

  4. It's true, Tanya. Praying really does a lot. Sometimes I realize that I just want to stay connected to the Lord. I need his help to stay on the right path. πŸ™‚

    Krista

I love hearing from you!!

