Strawberry Time!

This morning we went strawberry picking!   We pick six baskets full and N. (our oldest son -5 yr) had his basket full first.  Good for him!!  We had a good time too. Where we were the sun was shinning and it was hot, but we could see that to the north of us, it was starting to rain.  We could hear the thunder!  By the time we had our baskets filled it was really dark to the north and I was just hoping we would get home in time to take the laundry off the line!  On the way home, it started to rain just as we came up to our small village, and by the time we reach home it was pouring.  We rushed inside and I then saw that my wonderful husband had taken the laundry off of the line and the girls were happy that he had also thought of Buttercup (our bunny).  He was safely in his indoor cage in the garage.  The rest of the afternoon was filled with lunch and clean up, hulling three baskets of strawberries for jam and then another one for freezing.  The remaining two we left for eating fresh.  While doing all that, I also made yogurt and had to tend to diaper changes, and a couple of toddler potty accidents.  The children worked really well together, I was surprised and happy about that!  Come evening that peacefulness had disappeared, I’m not what happened to change that!  Anyway, all is well now and quiet.  While we were busy inside about three thunderstorms passed by.  I was really thankful we had gone out this morning and not planned to go this afternoon!

Picking berries, all four are here, just count the arms…  πŸ™‚

Yummy berries….

Hulling the berries…

A content baby girl….

Now our toddler had joined in too…

Mashing the berries…

Others also mashing berries…
Getting the berries ready for the freezer….  He soon tired of the job, mashing berries looked like a whole lot more fun!

Mommy checking up on the work.  πŸ™‚

A picture of me, thanks to my 5 yr. old son  πŸ™‚


Filling the jars…


All done and sealing, this is the first batch of jars, the rest were in the canner.

For my jams I use Pomona’s Universal Pectin.  It is what my mom uses too.  With Pomona’s you can use as much or a little honey or sugar and the recipe is so easy to follow.  Recipes are included for many jams/jellies with pectin. 

So that was our afternoon and hopefully we can have a couple more afternoons like that before the strawberry season is done here.   It was a good day! 

11 thoughts on “Strawberry Time!

  1. Sorry, I forgot to mention about that. I steam can here, Once steam starts escaping, I time it then for 10 minutes when I'm making jam.

    I have not used a pressure canner…

  2. What a fun and productive day! Sometimes we pick red raspberries in the fall at a you-pick-it place out here. They are so good! My husband prefers that we eat them all fresh, so we we eat red raspberries for three days on our ice cream and yogurt and just by the bowl full. πŸ™‚

    Krista

  3. It looks like you had a fun and very busy day! And you have such sweet and industrious little helpers :).
    We are looking into u-pick places for next year, maybe I'll be able to teach myself to steam can :). We usually just freeze our excess right now. We were planning to pick some this year but pregnancy and SC heat just do not mix well :P.

  4. Any tips on how not to have the jam separate? I used the same pectin as you and it separated. The finally few batches I used my stick blender instead of just mashing them and that seemed to help but the texture is differrent than I'm used to. Thanks!
    Esther
    http://mypresentseason.blogspot.com/

  5. Thanks everyone!

    Shelby, it is not hard to steam can, I know you could do it. I understand about the heat, being pregnant and picking, that was me last summer. πŸ™‚

    Esther, I was going to ask the same question! This time it didn't really separate, but I know exactly what you are talking about it. My mom and I have talked about it and we can't really figure out why it happens. This batch I made yesterday looks great. πŸ™‚

  6. Do you order Pomona's universal pectin in the mail? I make a lot of jam, but don't like the high sugar content in most of them, and was not really impressed by the jams that use apple. I called most of the cooking/health food stores in my area, and none of them carry it. Should I just order online? (I'm located in southern Ontario.)

    Liz @ momscountrykitchen.blogspot.com

  7. I haven't yet ordered any online, because my last bag, I had ordered it through a friend. I'm getting very low, so I need to buy more, but I was going to ask my friend first about it. I use to be able to buy it in the health food store here, but not any more. I'm in Southwestern Ontario. πŸ™‚Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Jun. 26, 2008 at 8:42 PM

  8. Thank you for sharing such beautiful pictures! I love seeing them and it is an encouragement to me. Blessings to you, Sister!
    Love
    Nikki

I love hearing from you!!

