A Big Day!! The First of Many!

Today was a big day!!  After waiting for over a year, the ground has been broken for our new home!!  To start at the beginning, (this is a very short version by the way) since the end of 2006 we have been dreaming and planning to build a new home out in the country.  Spring and summer of 2007, we were in the process of planning to build and getting things lined up,  but some issues came up with getting a building permit. (long story)  So the planning had to be put on hold.  This past spring (2008), we again submitted the house plans and we were given a building permit that same day!  Praise the Lord!!  We were all so happy!  Since then, it has been a time of waiting, but finally the day has arrived when the excavators came and started digging.  So this will be the first of many updates as we journey along the road of building a new home.  God is good! 

I just wanted to add this whole process has been such a learning experience for me.  You know we have dreams and plans and we think it should all happen right now, but I have been reminded over and over again, that God is in control and He has a perfect plan for us, which includes the perfect timing as well. 

The bulldozer busy at work.

All five children watching…

Running down the new unfinished driveway

Happy children…

My mom, baby and I standing where the front door will be sometime soon.    So behind us is where the house will stand one day soon.

This was an exciting day!  We are thankful that work has begun and we look forward to watching and seeing how this will unfold all in God’s good and perfect time.

"Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain."  Psalm 127:1

5 thoughts on “A Big Day!! The First of Many!

  1. I'm so happy for you guys! It'll be so neat to watch the house grow. Did you design the house yourselves? My brother was in the same boat, and he's since decided not to build yet. I hope you'll be able to post some photos for us when the construction begins! God bless.

    Mama J.

  2. That is wonderful news, I am so excited for you. In a couple of years my in laws and us are going to buy some land and build a house for us and a house for them. Hopefully we will then get to have our garden, and maybe even a couple of horses. Once again congratulations, I know you and your family are excited.

  3. How exciting! I'm so happy for you :). I love the picture of you all in "front" of the house :). It would be fun to redo that one periodically as the house progresses :). I pray it is a smooth, joyful process for you from here out ;)!

  4. oh how exciting!!!! I knew you were in the process and I remember the ground breaking day for building our home. It was so exciting! can you share your house plan? I so wish I had thought of the future (more kids/home school/closets/storage/food) when we build our house. Would make organizing a lot easier! πŸ™‚

    Looking forward to watching the process of your house being built.

    Oh our verse was: Haggai 1:8 "Go up to the mountain, and bring wood, and build the house; and I will take pleasure in it, and I will be glorified, saith the Lord."

    Hope that was not taking the verse out of context but we do live on a mountain, we built the house, and hopefully the Lord is glorified in our house! πŸ™‚

    Letisha

  5. It is exciting! πŸ™‚

    Letisha, I like your verse too. πŸ™‚ Yes, it is my prayer that the Lod will be glorified through this whole building process as well. As for house plans. I'll ask my dh, I know I had a link to share before, but I can't remember right now what it is. Yes, we do have lots of storage space, we will only have 4 bedrooms, but they are big and so far our children like to be together anyways. πŸ™‚ Bunkbeds work well. LOL

    We will ahve a school room too and I'm really excited about that! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

