Muffin Time and Hay Rides

This morning, I made up a batch of muffins, using a recipe from Tammy’s recipes.  I made the Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins, which we now know are very delicious.  Anyway, it is a simple recipe, but it took me longer than I expected!  Interruptions came right along….   First I realized I was out of muffin cups, fortunately our variety store here in town carried some.  I was going to just grease the pans, but decided against it when I took a look at my pans.    They are clean, but look well used!   So that took a couple of minutes, then baby had woken up from her nap, so I got her up, changed a diaper and also got her dressed.  Also before all this, I was mixing up the wet ingredients and then I ended up dumping the sugar into the dry instead of the wet! (sugar was suppose to go with the wet) I thought, oh no, I hope they still turn out!  Little fingers also were getting into the bowl of dry ingredients and also wanting to stir the wet.  Finally I asked another helper, (my 5 yr old son) to put the muffin cups into the tins.  He is always happy to do that.  Then I spooned in the batter, while trying to answer questions like "what are muffin cups made for?" and I while answering that I was also reminding little fingers to stay out of the batter.  At last into the oven they went!  Soon the kitchen was filled with a lovely aroma of lemons and poppy seeds….  yummy!  Once the timer rang, I took them out and they looked delicious!!   It was my first time trying this recipe, but it will be one, that I’ll be making again.  My family enjoyed them and kept telling me how good they were.

This afternoon, we had been invitied out to some close friends for a hay wagon ride and supper together.  We had a delightful time and lots of food!   Our hay wagon ride took us over to their son’s farm which is right next door to where we are building, (which is where my parents are living right now and our garden is there), we took a look at the lovely wheat fields and then had a look at our new "house" and then back to our friends for supper and fellowship.  It was a lovely evening.

Here is a picture of the wheat field on our land, in the background you can see the foundation of our new house.
Our friends had also made a tunnel through the hay in the barn, so most of us went through it.  I was so surprised when I had come up and found out our toddler had gone through.  Yes, I went through it twice, it was dark…. 

Anyway, that is a peek into our day…. 

3 thoughts on “Muffin Time and Hay Rides

  1. The hayride sounds like such fun :)!
    I've been intrigued by Tammy's muffin recipe, I'll have to try it. We love muffins! In fact, Bri is making some right now :).
    And my, what a beautiful view you will have out your windows :).

  2. Shelby, they are pretty good muffins. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yes, we will be blessed with a lovely view too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Martha, thank for the sweet compliment!! ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

