Our Garden in July

Yesterday, we spent the afternoon in the garden.  So now I can show you some pictures of how it is looking right now. 

Here we have beans, 2 rows green and 2 rows yellow, leeks and roma tomatoes, 1 zucchini plant and marigolds.  Plus some sunflowers. 

Right to left: you can see a bit of the last row of potatoes (there are 5 rows total), then flowers, onions, more flowers, peppers and corn.

Bit of the corn, then peas, dill and in the bare looking area are some hills of squash.

In the shady area – 1 row of cabbages, 1 row of green beans, (planted at a later date), 2 rows of corn, (also planted at a later date) 2 rows of pickling cukes & heritage tomatoes.  Behind the tomatoes is a row of carrots & beets and peppers, then comes the squash patch.

Looking at some lady bugs, that are were on the sunflower.

Peeking over the sunflower, at least for now, it will soon be too tall for him to see over.  He will then have to peek from behind it!   I’ll have to remember to get a picture of that.

Mommy and baby in the garden

Eating a carrot, can’t get any fresher than that!  Dirt and all….  Carrots are not ready yet, but they do need a bit of thining, so I let the children eat some. 

Picking peas
More of us picking peas…  (my mom and oldest son, you can also see baby sitting on the blanket)

Baby exploring the garden, she was on a blanket, but now that she is crawling, she  goes places. 
With all of us working, we got the peas shelled in record time and then today we enjoyed them for lunch,  Yummy!   I enjoy gardening and reaping the harvest.  Such rewarding work.  We are thankful!

I’m already dreaming about our garden for next year….

12 thoughts on “Our Garden in July

  1. That is a really nice garden! I miss the days of having space to garden in! It just seems like something wonderful to do with the children. Care to share your bounty? *wink*.

    Mama J.

  2. I would love too, MamaJ! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jen, yes, you can thin carrots, just pull out the ones that are to close together, otherwise, the carrots will be small and entangled.

  3. When I first read quickly, I thought it said 2 rows of yellow leek. I thought "wow, she's really brave!"

    The garden looks great.

    Liz @ momscountrykitchen.blogspot.com

  4. Oh, "two rows yellow zucchini" would be scary! LOL This year my mom has one plant and I have one plant. Should be lots, without it coming out of our ears. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are both green, next summer I wouldn't mind a yellow plant.

  5. It has been fun to have this garden this summer. An added blessing is my dad loves to garden as well, so the weeds have been under control, without me having to be weeding everyday. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

