Sewing Diapers

Today, I sewed up 6 diapers using the mama bird pattern.  They sew up so fast, especially when you have a serger.    I have made a number of these diapers.  I first discovered this pattern when I sewed up diapers while  pregnant with baby #4.  Now with our fifth baby, I used the ones I had already sewn, but now some are really starting to show wear and tear.  Also included in my diaper stash are diapers I have gotten from my second hand store finds, they were in excellent shape too, but after lots and lots of washing, they do get worn. 

So I got out the sewing machine and went to work.  This time I use flannel on the outside and fleece on the inside.  They feel so soft!  I’ll now have to see how well they will hold up after many washings. 

Just a note, the 2 yellow ones, I sewed up last week & baby is wearing the other plaid diaper.


I really like the way they fit.

A happy cloth diapered baby

Now for covers, I really like the Thirsties cloth diaper covers and I also have really enjoyed my Bummis
cloth diaper covers too.  I just recently bought the Thirsties and they are really nice!   I have also used Dappi  nylon diaper pants and others I have picked up at the second hand store.  But my favourite are the Thirsties. 

For this batch of diapers, I did buy material for them, our fabric store was having a good sale.  But in the past I have also used receiving blankets (picked up from the secondhand store), torn crib sheets and tee-shirts not being worn anymore.  Tee-shirts are not so absorbent, so I used that along with flannel. 
I have had a lot of fun in my cloth diapering adventure. 

My friend Tammy has an interesting post on pre-folded cloth diapers and there are so many others in the world wide web. 

12 thoughts on “Sewing Diapers

  1. Wow, I never used cloth diapers, because when my mom used them for my sister, they never fit well. Everything just ended up wet all the time. That's something to think about. I can do some basic sewing, but my mother-in-law uses a serger. They look great!

    Mama J.

  2. That is great!! You do a wonderful job on your sewing. I have just learned to sew in the past two days. I have always wanted to sew but have never been taught. I prayed about it because I did not own a sewing machine, and when we bought this house, the previous owner asked me if I wanted her sewing machine, I was so thrilled, and thank God for such a blessing. It is a really nice sewing machine. I have been sewing like crazy the last few days but I have a lot to learn. I put up a post on my sewing adventure on my blog. I hope you have a blessed week, and can't wait to see more of your sewing projects. Blessings, Delilah

  3. Thank you!

    MamaJ – you can get some really nice covers now, I like them better than disposibles. πŸ™‚ These diapers are really easy to sew too.

    Delilah – that is wonderful about your "new" sewing machine! Praise God for His blessing to you! I'll go see your "work" now. πŸ™‚Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Jul. 23, 2008 at 8:07 PM

  4. That looks like the same pattern my mom used to sew diapers for all my babies. LOVED them. You do beautiful work.

    Blessings,
    Kym

  5. those diapers look so cozy and pretty!!!!!!!!! How in the world do you find the time to sew????????????????? Can you share?

  6. I just LOVE seeing homemade cloth diapers. It is one thing I do that brings great satisfaction…can't wait to start sewing the stash for our new little one! Great job!!!

  7. Kym, that is neat! πŸ™‚

    Mamato8, I just have to make time! It can be hard…. I will sew in the evenings when the children are in bed, or when baby is napping during the day. I don't sew every week.

    PrairieLady, Thanks and yes, baby is cuter!! πŸ™‚

    Amy, thanks so much for leaving me a comment! I do enjoy sewing diapers and then putting them on baby. it sure does give great satisfaction. πŸ™‚

  8. They look so cozy!:) I really like the mamabird pattern. I make them with t-shirt fabric for the outer layer so I can close them with a snappi. I splurged on some velour for the inner layer… it's so soft:) It's such a great pattern for free!!

  9. Those diapers are so cute (and baby is adorable ;)! I would love to do something like that but we have had issues with mold down here in hot and muggy SC and I'm a little afraid of spending a ton of time or money on nice diapers :(. Maybe I'll get it figured out this time.

I love hearing from you!!

