Summer Days

Summer days are busy! 

Today we were given a bushel of summer apples, which I turned into apple pie filling.  I canned them, so now I have ready-made apple pie filling.  It was a first for me to do this.  They look good!  I also canned a a batch of bread and butter pickles as well today.  So it was one busy day here.  My children were pretty good in helping me too.


My helpers peeling and cutting apples

Our baby girl; she was quite content to crawl around here this evening while we finished up the apple peeling.

I also have a bushle of peaches here, so I might be canning a few of those tomorrow.   I enjoy canning, but I know once I’m done, I’ll be happy!   It is rewarding to see the shelves fill up with canned goods.   This year, it is nice and feels a bit more relaxing for me.  Last year, I was very pregnant with baby #5 and she was due the end of Sept.  So I really wanted to get all the canning done, which I did just days before she was born! Now this year she is crawling around.  How the time flies…..
8 thoughts on “Summer Days

  1. Where do you store all your canning stuff.In a basement or pantry.Do you have a place just for that or put it with the rest of your groceries?

  2. Good Job! I know how you feel, we just finished doing tomatoes and our apples are next! That pie filling looks delicious, do you mind sharing how you did it?

  3. I have a cold storage where I store all of our canned goods and potatos. It stays cool and it is also dark. ๐Ÿ™‚ I should take a picture sometime…..

    In our new house we will have 3 cold storages!

    About the pie filling I'll make a blog post about that next week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I am still learning.With nice ladies like you all are helping me.I would like to see photos if you could.A cold storage is that like a root cellar?

  5. My cold storeage is under our front porch with access to it from the basement. So it can get damp in there, but stays cold, but not freezing in the winter. I'll take a picture, the shelves are old, but at least you can then see what I'm talking about. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. You certainly keep busy :). The ready made pie filling would be such a great thing to have on hand. I really want to try my hand at canning sometime.
    Andrew saw the baby's picture at the end and said, "Baby's comfy mommy." (he means happy :)).

  7. Yes, I do keep busy, most of the time that is! ๐Ÿ™‚ If we lived closer, we could do canning together. Wouldn't that be fun! Andrew is right, she is happy!

I love hearing from you!!

