First Day Back to Homeschool

We are back to school!   Our first day went pretty good.  The girls did well and hardly needed any help, so that left me free to be with N.  We are using the learning to read program from Christian Light with him.  He enjoyed it.  For the first lesson the focus was the letter D!   He will be interesting to teach. He is 5 ½ and won’t be 6 until Jan.  He kept getting really upset when I told him to form his letter d properly.  He did get it and did well, but for a short time, he was trying to see if I would let him get away with making it however he wanted.  He ended up really getting our of sort, he was really testing the limits, but after I dealt with him and then talked with him, by the end I was crying and he then just melted and cried too.  We prayed together and he was such a sweet helper for lunch and the rest of the day went very well.

Here is S. She is 10 and in grade 6 this year.
We are using ACE and she does not have everything quite yet.


Here is R.  She is 7, will be 8 in Dec. and she is in gr. 3.
We are using ACE and Pathway readers.


Here is N. he is 5, will be 6 in Jan and just starting gr. 1.
We are using Christian Light Publications


Our toddler, I couldn’t leave him out. 
He will be 3 the end of the month.
The green tractor is his favourtie toy right now.


Here is baby!  She is almost 11 months.
Full of smiles!


I’ll have to do a post just about her, on her 11 month "birthday".

Anyway, I’m encouraged,  I know we will have challanging times, but God will give me patience and wisdom as needed.  That will be everyday single day, I’m sure!

5 thoughts on “First Day Back to Homeschool

  1. I know how it can be frustrating with little boys. My oldest daughter loves school and even my 3 year old little girl wants to "play school". My son is also 5 and will be 6 in March. We too have had are time of frustration. In fact the 2nd day I got so frustrated and raised my voice at him, and he started crying and so did I. He is very smart but doesn't like to sit down for long periods of time. What has helped us is doing two subjects and let him take a quick 10 minute break in between. It has helped so much. We have been in school for 3 weeks and he now recognizes all his letters and knows all the sounds. We took the week off and plan to get back on board tomorrow, Lord willing, I have got a nasty cold and haven't felt good since Friday. Blessings, Delilah

  2. What a beautiful family! They take lovely photos as well. I've been looking at ACE a little bit for when my girls get older. They're just in the preschool stage right now, so I have lots of time, but it does go so quickly! I hope your school year goes well!

    Mama J.

  3. Thanks!

    This will be new teaching a boy and plus it is new having 3 in school too. The rest of the week went well, so I am encouraged!

    MamaJ – the time does pass quickly, I can't believe I now teaching 3! Where did the time go??

    Teaching is rewarding!

I love hearing from you!!

