Lovely Weekend

This past weekend we had the privilege of meeting and hearing Steve and Teri Maxwell from Titus2.com.  They were speaking in a small town just 45 minutes away from us.  When I first saw in their fall traveling schedule that this little town was their last place to speak at during their trip, I was so excited.  I had wanted to meet them since I first read some of their books and was on their momsboard.  That was a number of years ago and at the time we only had the two girls.  Since then, the momsboard was closed, but I stayed in touch by reading their monthly Dad & Mom Corners and then through their blog as well.  So anyway, this past weekend, we were blessed and encouraged to hear them both share the messages that the Lord has laid on their hearts.  It was good!

Uriah the Maxwell’s bus…

Baby enjoying the views below…

Steve and Teri speaking during the Keeping Our Children’s Hearts session

Here are some notes/my thoughts I took while listening…

The more our goals for our children differ from the direction of the world, the more we need (and need to shelter) our children’s heart!

 "For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also."  Matthew 6:21

Our children are our treasure, we need to make sure that is where our heart is, our heart need to be in it wholeheartedly.

Purpose not to have time apart
Purpose to spend time with the children
Purpose not to be angry
Purpose to show our love

I enjoyed hearing Teri speak on Homeschooling With a Meek and Quiet Spirit.  I have read her book a number of times and did a study on it once too.  But hearing her in person was such a treat!

Smile at the children!  Children need a happy and smiling mama. 

I also was encouraged in hearing Teri speak on "Loving Your Husband"

Be grateful to him
Be positive to him
Be encouraging to him
Be praising to him

Our children are also watching us, they see how we treat our husbands by our example.

I thought this was a good question

Are we helpmeets, or do we expect our husbands to be our helpers?  That was a good question!  I know there was a time when I expected my husband to help out around the house.  But when I first read Teri’s book, I  realized that my feelings of him needing to help me with the house work were for selfish reasons.  So I purposed in my heart to do it all cheerfully and if my husband chose to help me, than to accept it gratefully.  If not, then I knew I was being a help to him and he could focus on other things.

Be in the Word daily
Be reverencing
Be submissive
Be helpful
Be forgiving
Be loving

So those are just a few of the thoughts I wrote down.  Once again it was good! Also seeing their children was such an encouragment! 

I also enjoyed Teri’s talk about managing the home and chores, it was good to hear her talk about the chorepacs etc…  I have been inspired to redo our way of doing chores…  

The girls were able to say hi to Sarah Maxwell and tell her how much they have enjoyed reading the Moody Family series.  One thing I thought of today is that I should have taken a picture of the girls with Sarah Maxwell….  but we have much to be thankful for! 

Now it is time to put what I have learned into practice!  Hopefully I can share some things as we go along. 

9 thoughts on “Lovely Weekend

  1. Tanya, I was wondering if I could post some of your notes on my blog sometime — with some more information about the Maxwells? I'd link back to your blog, if that's alright with you.

    Thanks,
    Naomi

  2. How neat that you got to see the Maxwells! We have also been so encouraged by their family ministry. I just recently received their new book, "Managers of their Schools," and it has been such a blessing.

    Our girls love Sarah's Moody family books, too. They can't wait for her to come out with a new one.

    I'm so glad you got to be encouraged through them! πŸ™‚

    Joy
    http://gracefulwordsblog.blogspot.com/

  3. It was a blessing!

    I'm going to be getting that book too… πŸ™‚ They are such lovely people, such a blessing to see a large family living to bring glory to the Lord Jesus Christ. Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Oct. 22, 2008 at 4:54 PM

  4. Thank you for your post/notes! I really enjoy the ministry of the Maxwell Family, too. Within the past year, I have purchased a few of their books. Last week, they were about 1 1/2 hrs from our home, and I wasn't able to attend, but now I wish I had! Thank you for highlighting some of the very important points of Christian parenting and marriage.
    Blessings to you, Sister.
    Nikki

  5. Oh, I just love the Maxwell family too. The Lord has used so many people in my life to teach, encourage, convict and bless me in my calling of a wife and mother, but if I were to pick the ones that I feel He used to help me the most, it would be the Maxwells. They are just the sweetest, humble, yet wise family. And my children LOVE the Moody books too. We are re-reading Autumn outloud (for the 3rd time) this month. Sarah surprised us and used our names (Lockwoods) for the missionaries in Winter with the Moodys. I think that was one of my children's most exciting days (apart from me bringing home a new brother/sister)…seeing their name in a Moody book πŸ™‚
    I'm so glad that you were able to go to their conference and I know the Lord will bless you as you follow Him.
    love,
    Jaynee

  6. We met the Maxwell's 2 years ago and they are a very nice family. My daughter visited with Sarah too and was glad to have that opportunity to meet her. She loves her books! Looks like they have upgraded to a bigger RV to travel with. Before, they had driven a big van with a trailer.

I love hearing from you!!

