This & That

Can I just say we have been having busy days here? 

We have been doing pretty good with our new schedule, still changing things a little, just making it better for how our day really goes.  The girls really like it, now they know what I expect of them each day.

One of my maids has quit working…   It is our dishwasher!!  Wow, I never really thought about how much I enjoy having a dishwasher until it was not working.  I really don’t mind washing dishes by hand, but it does take more time to do it by hand.  It is so fast to just rise the dishes, put them into the dishwasher, turn on, and walk away.  It is a good time to teach the children how to wash dishes…

School is going well, we are in our second quarter!  S. still struggles with math, but she is understanding it better, so I’m happy!  R. is doing well, although she struggles with spelling and subtracting.  The boys are fine, I haven’t been doing as much with N. as I was.  We still do school each day, but I’m letting him finish the preschool books from Rod and Staff.   With the Learning to Read program for Christian Light, he was having to remember words and he is just not quite ready for that yet.  He is doing very well with his letters and remembers them and their sound, so I’m quite happy with that!

On Monday, the girls and I cut out some dolls and dresses to go with them.  We are looking forward to sewing them!  I’ll have to post pictures when we do…   The dolls will be cute, (we hope!) and they will be 25 inches inches long.  Should be fun!  Hope to start sewing on Monday…

Today, I spent the afternoon making cabbage rolls!  That was a first!  I grew some cabbages in the garden this past summer, so now I cabbages to use.  They look really good and it was not as hard as I always thought.  Isn’t that how it usually goes??

We have been "enjoying" snow.  I didn’t want to see it so early this year, but it does look pretty.  I will have to go and get my camera and post a house update. 

I just saw the time and realized I will have to leave the house update for tomorrow, it is getting late and the kitchen needs a little attention before I head of to bed.

Here  are a couple of verses that spoke to me this morning during my morning quiet time. 

If ye then be risen with Christ, seek those things which are above, where Christ sitteth on the right hand of God.  
Set your affection on things above, not on things on the earth
Colossians 3:1 & 2
6 thoughts on “This & That

  1. I remember when my dishwasher broke, I cried. It took us 4 months before we got another one. Maybe I am just spoiled, but I can't live with out one, for long term anyways.

  2. I love cabbage rolls! I never have them here, my husband is allergic to cabbage :(. I hope to have a garden someday with my girls. I know what you mean about the dishwasher, I'm afraid we take ours for granted as well. I hope your weekend will be a great one.

    Mama J.

  3. Sorry about your dishwasher! I have a hard time keeping up with the dishes WITH my dishwasher! 😦 Praying the it gets fixed soon! The sewing sounds like SO much fun…I have yet to start my Annie on it yet but I can't wait! Great update! God bless!

  4. Hi Mrs. L!
    It was nice meeting you at Indiana Family camp! Here I'll give you my initials so you can find out who I am. It's A.J.L. I'm a new pen pal of S. πŸ™‚ Another hint…. ummm… you took a picture of me and S and R at Indiana Family camp. πŸ™‚

    God Bless!
    ~AJ

  5. Still don't have a working dishwasher!! 😦 Hubby ahs been to busy with the new house. πŸ™‚

    The cabbage rolls are so yummy!

    Hi, AJ! I do know who you are. πŸ™‚ S. was very happy to have made a new friendn at Indiana family camp meeting. I was happy to have met your mom! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

