Wednesday’s Walk Down Memory Lane – More Childhood Memories


Here is my walk down memory lane…

(This pic was taken by my sil a few summers ago at the farm)

I thought I would continue to share a bit more about my growing up years today.  As I mentioned last week, we had a dry well for many years.  Around the time I turned 17, my parents bought a 100 acre farm.  It was a dream come true for us, we were all so excited!  We bought this farm from the Amish, it did have running water in the house, but no bathrooms and no electricity!  That didn’t bother us, we knew that in time we would have a septic system put in and then put in bathrooms. Didn’t we live many years using an outhouse already?!  We were just very thankful to have water and lots of it!  We moved in and enjoyed our new home.  We learned to cook on the woodstove and had lanterns for light.  It was neat!
We lived without electricity for about 11 months.  It was a good experience for all of us. It was a big day, when we had electricity for the first time, I remember being "excited" those first few days when we would come home and the house was dark, because we would be able to turn a light on without having to fumble around in the dark for the flashlight! 
I just loved living on the farm and I enjoyed the farm work. We had chickens, a few cows, sheep, goats, our dog and cats.  I remember the first calves, lambs and goats.  They were all so sweet.  Most of the time I was the one who milked our Brown Swiss cow named Brindle .  I have a picture of me and her, but I think it is packed away, I’ll have to hunt that one up and post it some Wednesday.  She was a sweet cow and when she died a few years later, I was really sad.   I wouldn’t mind owning a Brown Swiss again sometime. 

As for the bathrooms, but parents are still using the outhouse.  With other expenses, the septic system was put on hold.  Now that the farm is sold and we are building next door to it, my parents will soon be living "modern".     Our new house includes a place for them to live as well.  I treasure my growing up memories and love sharing stories to my children. 

The farm

Another view of the farm

That first summer and summers thereafter, we had hay to bring in.  That was hot work, but lots of fun.  I love the smell of freshly cut hay!  This is a picture of one of my dad’s hay rakes.  It was old, but it did do the job.  


We had some difficult learning experiences and some rough times, but God is faithful and never leaves or forsakes us.  He is good!  Thanks for reading, I enjoyed digging out some of my childhood memories!

A note – all these pictures were taken (and used with her permission) by my sister in law a few summers ago. 

17 thoughts on “Wednesday’s Walk Down Memory Lane – More Childhood Memories

  1. ~it reminds me of my grandparent's farm in southern Minnesota. Oh, how I longed to go there when I was young. There was something so freeing, even to a young mind, about spending time there.

    Thanks for sharing, Tanya!

    Blessings,

    Rachel

  2. You and your family are amazing! I am too much of a city girl. I don't think I could survive the country life. But it sounds charming.
    My daughter Lynnette Kraft is a Tasha Tudor fan and she likes all things simple! (:>)
    They have milked goats and had all kinds of animals. But someday she wants to have a cow.
    Find your picture and post it so she can see. (:>)
    God Bless You1

  3. Sounds like a wonderful place to be a child! My daughter would be so envious – she loves the outdoors and would consider it a dream come true to grow up somewhere like that!
    lynette x

  4. I love stories from the farm. It's hard to believe there were times when you didn't have running water, indoor bathrooms, and electricity! That is certainly a rare thing to experience for as young as you are. It sounds like you loved it though and count it as a blessing. That's wonderful!

    I would love to have a milking cow and hope to some day. We get our milk, cheese and eggs from an Amish family in Yoder. It is delightful! (and the milk and cheese are raw)

    Thanks for sharing these neat memories with us!
    Lynnette

  5. I think that sounds so beautiful. I think God would prefer us to live that way, enjoying his creation, rather than running around like crazy, using all of our time unwisely, and forgetting to appreciate the simple things in life.

  6. I grew up in a small town, countryish. But we had running water, electricity, and we didn't live on a farm either.

    How did you bathe tho?

  7. Thank you for sharing about your Amish home. We have Amish that live within 30 minutes of us, and I find their lives fascinating. They live hard lives. A friend of mine is a midwife for them as well. Interesting that you got a "real life" glimpse of it! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Loni
    http://writingcanvas.wordpress.com/

  8. Wow, it has been really neat learning more about your growing up years. The pictures are beautiful too, makes me really miss our days in Iowa. Your farm reminds me of my grandparent's farm. We spent two straight weeks there once and they were wonderful :). Catching butterflies, petting the horses and eating apples right off of the tree. Ahhh…

  9. The house looks huge….what fun! So sad to hear that you sold it! How many brothers and sisters did you have?

    Good job on the kitchen! I have been cleanning house but don't want anyone to see my messy house. Thanks for shareing…..its comforting to know I'm not alone with a messy house.

    Peace and Prayers,
    Georgiann

  10. I have a stupid question…
    I thought, looking from france, that the amish lived all close one to the others… kind of a communety..
    When you buy an amish farm, are you getting to live among them?
    Why do they sell their farm? Where do they go to??

    Please do not laugh!!! :-))))

    http://comptines.over-blog.com

  11. Hey Tanya!
    I enjoyed reading some more of your beautiful blog the other day. Sorry i have not left a comment sooner! I enjoyed reading about your childhood. I did not know that you grew up like that! We grew up more a like than I knew! When my family (a family of 7 and later 8) moved up here, from TX., we lived in a 10'x50' old trailer house, on our 119 acres. I was almost 12 when we moved up here. We hauled all our water from a creek and spring, for the next 2 yrs., I believe, when we finally got the water to gravity flow into the house! We lived very plain! Plainer then a lot of mennonites I have meet! My sister and I used a handwasher at the creek for laundry, we cut all our firewood with bow saws and axes, cooked and canned on a wood cookstove, milked cows and goats, worked in our gardens, etc. It is a wonderful experience for children to grow up close to nature, on a farm with animals and learning to help work, be responsible, and sooo many lessons that you learn on the land! My parents still live on the farm, not far from us, 5 of my siblings are still growing up there, too! They still have gravity flow water, tons of animals, a garden every year, outhouses (I think they have an indoor bathroom now), but they now use chainsaws since they have a sawmill, and they have solar for some lights and I think a generater for laundry! Everybody CAN live the way you did and my family does and soo many others do. And someday maybe not before to long we all might be living that way! So it is good to learn about and prepare for, (even if you never have to depend on it for your livilyhood.)!
    I look forward to growing a garden this spring and getting the girls out there so they can play in nature and learn how things grow and where our food comes from!
    I got to spend a lot of time with my head in the side of a cow, milking, too! We had a jersey, "Velvet," and a brown swiss, "Swiss." I was not crazy at all about the goats! But we hope to get us some for our own milk and the girls to have!
    Well better go get some lunch! Sorry to rattle on so much! Hope to hear from you soon!
    By the way, your house is looking soo good! How exciting!
    God bless and keep ya'll!

    Love in Christ,
    Your Friend,
    Hannah

  12. Living the way we did is almost rare for one like me. I must say I'm really glad for my childhood and I wouldn't want to change it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    For bathing we had our bathtub, but we had to heat up water and bath out of a pail. It work!

    We live very near to the Amish. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Georgiann, I have two younger brothers.

    Nicole, the Amish do live in a community, but a number of years ago, many Amish families from around here moved to the US. (I'm in Canada)

    Hannah, it was good to "see" you here! I didn't know we had so much in common!!

    Thanks again everyone for leaving me a sweet comment!

  13. Thanks everyone for leaving a comment! I love reading them. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Just an answer to a couple of questions…

    For bathing we bath in our bathtub, but we had to use water from a bucket. We heated the water and then took it to the bathroom and had our bath. ๐Ÿ™‚

    The Amish live in an community, but Englishers (as we are called) can live next door, or across the street etc… They do not live in a closed community.

I love hearing from you!!

