Walk Down Memory Lane – Bunnies


I was looking through some of our older files of digital pictures and came across some really sweet pictures.  Today I thought I would share a few pictures of our two oldest girls and their pet bunnies.  Our girls were wanting to have a pet for a long long time, so during summer of 2004, we bought them each a bunny.  S. named her bunny Daisy and R. named her bunny Buttercup. 

 These were taken in 2004.
Here is R. with both of the bunnies.
Daisy is gray and Buttercup is white.


S. with both bunnies

Daisy ended up getting really big, so we gave him/her away, but we still have Buttercup.  In the summer, Buttercup spends every day outside in a lovely cage out on the grass.  She has gotten out a few time and has been "lost".  One morning just a few days after we had gotten them, I went out to check on them and Buttercup was gone.  I was so disappointed and I was wondering how was I going to explain this to R. because I knew she would be so sad!  I turned around to head back to the house when there by the deck was Buttercup!  I said a prayer asking the Lord to help me catch her and with my husband’s help and much prayer we caught her.  I was so thankful and so was R.   We have had a few experiences with prayer and finding Buttercup since hat day.  It is precious to see a little child’s prayer answered.  We have so many stray cats around here, so it was always a fear that Buttercup would be gone for good.  Fortunately Buttercup is bigger now and the girls have been really good with taking care of her.


 A very sweet picture of S. and Daisy
taken
during the summer of 2004. 

When we first bought the bunnies home, S. had chosen a gray and white one, such a pretty and sweet little bunny, but one day I had gone out to check on them and forgot to close the lid.  I happened to look outside a while later and saw a cat in the bunny cage.  I was to late and the sweet little bunny was dead.  I cried….  I felt so terrible!  We made a better cage and S. picked out this gray bunny.  They spent many happy hours playing with the bunnies. 

I hope you enjoyed my walk down memory lane, I know I did.  The girls have grown so much too.  It sure is enjoyable to look through picture from years ago, how the children grow and change.  Plus it brings back memories of times we may have forgotten.
Please join Lynnette in walking down memory lane on Wednesday’s and don’t forget to check out her blog for links to visit more "walks" down memory lane.

13 thoughts on “Walk Down Memory Lane – Bunnies

  1. Bunnies are so cute and cuddly. We've had a couple too. They can be a little feisty though, huh? My experience is once they want out of your arms, they try to get out quick! We tried to keep them inside in a cage, but it was too messy (and smelly).

    Your girls are adorable. Thanks for sharing your memory with us. πŸ™‚
    Lynnette

  2. Your memories are so beautifully described. And the pictures of your daughters are priceless.

    Take care, my friend.

    RachelEdited by Raesfamily on Jan. 21, 2009 at 8:43 AM

  3. I have always LOVED bunnies! I'm not really a pet person, so I never had them for very long–just too much cleaning and grooming and feeding…well, you get the point. πŸ™‚ I too had a grey bunny named Daisy though! She was a lot of fun and I really did love her like crazy. Unfortunately, she died a few months after we got her, but I'll always have sweet memories of my first bunny experience. πŸ™‚

    Thanks for sharing. Your daughters are precious…Adorable pictures!

    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  4. I can't tell you their names or anything, but I vaguely remember having 2 black ones. (maybe brown)

    So you started out w/3 bunnies and one was killed by a cat? One you have now, and the other you gave away?

    the pics are sooooooooooooooo cute!!!

  5. Our girls won a bunny as a prize in a VBS once. It turned out that one of the girls is deathly allergic to the fur so she never got to hold her bunny again. One of her sisters was managed to adopt that bunny as just her very own and took good care of it until the bunny died years later. We still talk about Nibbles and the things the girls went through to win her!

    As a side note, the hutch filler and the "stuff we cleaned out of the cage" made a wonderful base for our compost bin that fertilized our organic garden.

  6. It's so sweet! Even looking at photos of a year or two ago, I can't believe how much my kids have grown and changed! It's so exciting to watch! God bless.

    Mama J.

  7. What beautiful photos and sweet stories of your daughters and their bunnies! Thank you for sharing and for visiting my post today, too! See you next Wednesday!

    Laura

  8. Bunnies do make great pets, but yes they can be a bit feisty. Buttercup is pretty good, though. πŸ™‚ She does have her moments! πŸ™‚

    This is the first winter to have the bunny in our house, usually Buttercup spent the winters at my parents, but the girls really wanted to have Buttercup here. The cage can smell, but we keep it clean out at least twice a week. πŸ™‚

    Abigail, that is neat you had a daisy too. πŸ™‚

    We had to give Daisy away… Daisy just got to big!

    Thanks again everyone!! πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

