African Lion Safari Memories

During the summer of 2004, we spent the day at the nearby African Lion Safari.   My parents came along that day and we had a great time making memories and enjoying the sights around us. 
 
The first thing we did was watch the elephants playing in the water.  They are such big creatures, but when you see them splashing around in the water, they look so light and carefree. 
After the elephants we went on the safari bus and toured through the wild animal section.  We all really enjoyed seeing the different animals.  I think I enjoyed the baboons the best, although the lions are very majestic looking.
This is why we didn’t drive our van through! 
First ride ever on an elephant!  (my dad and the girls)
We took a ride on this little train.  I can remember it started to pour while we were waiting for the train.  It was looking like it could rain all day, but we actually had a very good day.  Once we were on the train it rained a little, but by the end it had stopped.

The girls climbing like monkeys.

After we had walked and saw all there was to see we stopped at the water park.  I didnt know this was here, so I didn’t think of bringing swimsuits for the girls or a change of clothes for that matter.  But we figured we don’t come here everyday, so the girls had a ball playing in the water.  I had fun watching them!

Daddy checking it out.

What a big splash!!

We had a great day, another lesson I learned was to not have a child wear new sandals without having band-aids on hand.  Our second daughter ended up getting some blisters, but fortunately we were able to get some band-aids and find some socks for her to put on.  The girls were cold after their time in the water, so on the way home we stopped and bought them something dry to wear!  My second lesson, bring extra clothes for the children.

If was fun looking through the pictures and remember that day.  We will have to take a trip there again sometime, we have two little ones who haven’t been there yet!

Please visit Lynnette’s blog for more walks down memory lane!

13 thoughts on “African Lion Safari Memories

  1. What a fun time your girls had!! Made extra special that their grandparents can be there to share the adventures! My youngest loves the splash areas at the different parks we go to. I still sometimes forget changes of clothes and a towel! That is why we have so many beach towels – one from every park!
    Thank you for sharing!

  2. Wow!,…a ride on an elepant! That must have been an experience.

    It looks like your trip was fun for everyone. Where are we going next? (:>)

    Thanks for sharing.
    Linda

  3. That looks like a ton of fun! Aren't the white tigers neat looking?

    I enjoyed looking at your pictures so much. I think it's great that you let your girls go ahead and get all wet in their clothes. I would have done that too!

    Have a great day with your family ๐Ÿ™‚
    Lynnette
    http://www.lynnettekraft.blogspot.com

  4. It looks like so much fun! You and Lynette had the same theme today and I enjoyed reading about both trips to visit the animals. I think I shall soon plan a trip to our local zoo because I am suddenly in the mood for a visit!. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. It's so great that your family takes the time to make memories like this! I love the white tigers! They're so beautiful.

    Fun pictures. Thanks for sharing!
    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  6. It was a lot of fun, it was great to go through the pictures again and remember this outing. I had forgotten some things until I saw the pictures again. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

