Memories From Europe – Part 1

Today’s walk down memory lane will be part one of our trip to Europe during the spring (May) of 2005.  During this trip to Europe, we visited relatives and friends and we saw Germany, Switzerland, Austria, Slovakia, Czech Republic and then back to Germany.  We had also wanted to see Holland, but just didn’t make it there.  We were gone three weeks total.  So to start, I’ll share about our first few days in Germany.  Next week, I will start with our time in Switzerland and then so on.  Our flight to Frankfurt, Germany went well.  The children traveled really well and were able to sleep. I had a harder time sleeping, but I managed about 1 hour of sleep, my husband couldn’t sleep at all.    We landed in Germany about 10:50am and my great Aunt and Uncle met us at the airport.  It was wonderful to have someone meet us, even though I had met them only once before!  Just knowing they were family was enough!  I can’t speak German, but we were able to communicate a bit, fortunately their son could speak English and he came with us in our rental van and gave my husband tips about driving in Europe and what the different signs met.  When I first viewed Germany, I thought and still do think it was so beautiful!!  Everything was so green!  We had left a cold and not so green Canada, so this was wonderful!  I wrote in my journal how it reminded me of Barbados!  LOL  (I’ll have to do a "walk" about Barbados soon, I did want to do that first, but I have to scan in some pictures, because that was in the days before our digital camera. )    We spent a couple of days with my Great Aunt and Uncle.  I remember feeling so tired…

The next day my relatives took us sight seeing, our first stop was a castle.

This is the home my Opa was born in

The castle we visited is on the top of the hill here in this picture

Family picture in front of the entrance to the castle.  We had 3 children at the time and I was expecting our fourth baby.

One of the views from the tower at the castle, this gave us a real good look of the countryside.  It was just beautiful!

After the castle, we went walking through a small town, can’t remember the name, but it was neat and so different than anyplace here in Canada.  I enjoyed it very much.

After we came back to my relative’s home, I took a nap and then I took the children for a little walk before supper and found this lovely little park.  The children were overjoyed to have somewhere to play for awhile.

We enjoyed a wonderful time with my relatives and you don’t know how much I wished I could speak German with them.  My husband did much better than I did with German. After our time with my relatives, we said our goodbyes and made our way to the Black Forest.  We planned to stay at a Pension (bed and breakfast) for the weekend.  We had a lovely drive to the place, in the picture below are the two large doors that you first see when you arrive at the Pension.  My husband first knocked on these doors, but then went around to the back and discovered the door he should have knocked on first.  Behind these two doors was the barn where they kept their cows!  The children still laugh about that!

The cows coming home after a day out in the fields.

One of the views from the Pension.  It was absolutely beautiful there.  Surround by hills…  I thought of
Ps. 121 whenever I looked out our window.

The children and I in the Black Forest.

Another pretty view…

Driving closer to the Alps!

The children traveled so well and we had a great stay at the Pension in the the Black Forest.  It was cool and rainy, we even saw some snow, but we had a great time driving and around the area and taking in all the different sights.  What great memories.  I have not look in the journal I wrote in since out trip, so it has been wonderful to relive the trip and remember some details I had forgotten about.  On Sabbath, we were invited to go to church, we had a lovely time, I took the children to Sabbath School and we knew some of the songs and sang them in English.  I was also able to figure out the Bible lesson and tell the children.  It was about Joseph and his 10 brother. It was the time when they had brought Benjamin with them back to Egypt and then about the cup in Benjamin’s sack.  For the sermon a very kind lady heard we were Canadians and couldn’t speak much German, so she sat with us and translated the sermon for us.  How thoughtful of her!  When back at  the Pension, we were invitied for lunch and then again for dessert at 3:30pm.  We all took a nap while we waited for dessert, we were all so tired!  Monday we packed up and made our way towards Switzerland and I will share more next week!

Psalms 121
I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.
My help cometh from the LORD, which made heaven and earth.
 He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.
Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD is thy keeper: the LORD is thy shade upon thy right hand.
The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.
The LORD shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.
The LORD shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth,
 and even for evermore.

Please visit Lynnette’s blog for more "walks down memory lane."

16 thoughts on “Memories From Europe – Part 1

  1. What special memories!! I especially love the picture of the view from the Pension – breathtaking. I would love to visit Germany and other European countries one day myself.

    Blessings,
    Kym

  2. What a wonderful trip!!! Thank you also for sharing the photos. My husbands family lived in Germany for several years and loved it.

  3. I remember when you went there :). It was neat to see more pictures! It is such a beautiful place in the pictures, I can't imagine what it must have been like in person!

  4. What a treat to be able to visit all of those places. A trip to remember for sure. It's wonderful that were able to take all of your children. So many couples make those trips without the children.

    Thanks for sharing. The pictures were truly beautiful.

  5. Wow, the pictures are gorgeous! Sounds like an amazing trip! I've always wanted to go all over Europe. Maybe one of these days I'll be able to do it. 🙂 All of the architecture fascinates me so much. It's absolutely beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing your trip with us! I'm looking forward to hearing about Switzerland!

    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  6. Beautiful pictures,…beautiful memories,…beautiful place,…beautiful family!

    Thanks for sharing.
    Linda

    P.S. My husband was born in England in the Yorshire area and when he retired we went there for a month. I felt like I was in storybook land because of all of the castles and the beautiful landscape.

  7. These are such amazing pictures! I have never been anywhere outside of the US and I just love to see pictures of different places!

    Becca

  8. What beautiful pictures!

    I hope to travel to Germany and meet distant relatives someday. My German ancestors came to America in 1851. Distant relatives and I discovered each other through genealogy and hope to meet in person someday. Your post just makes me more determined than ever to get there.

  9. Enjoyed walking with you through Germany today! My husband spent many years growing up in the Black Forest, the son of Trans World Radio missionaries. We are saving for a trip to Europe in the distant future! See you next week!

  10. What wonderful memories! Our oldest daughter was born in Southern Bavaria and one of my 'regrets' is that she will never remember being there…she was 5 mo old when we moved back to the states.
    Thank you for stirring up those memories in me!!!

    Pamela in TX

  11. Those pictures make me homesick! We lived in Germany for 3 years and there are many times that I miss it! Beautiful pictures – thank you for sharing.
    marie

I love hearing from you!!

