Memories From Europe – Part 2


Today’s walk is a continuation of last week’s walk.  I will probably need to do two more weeks to finish up this trip too.  Hard to condense 3 weeks of seeing so many places in one day. 

May 2005


After we left the lovely Pension in the Black Forest, we headed to Switzerland.  We really didn’t have a destination in mind, but we wanted to see Switzerland!  So off we went…  We decided to head to Lugano to see and experience Palm trees and we thought we would find a place in the area to stay for the night.  We drove through the Alps, the children were not so fond of driving through the tunnels in the mountains, but we had a good drive and enjoyed the beautiful snow-capped Alps.  We arrived in Lugano and what a change, palm trees and just a whole different look!  Almost looked like we were in Italy.  We were not sure where to find a place to stay and anything that we did see looked expensive, so we decided to head Elnat, where we had been told was a nice Pension.  SO that is what we did, we got lost a few times, so my dear husband ended up driving all night.  He actually didn’t mind it, he rather enjoyed himself.  The children were able to sleep and I slept some too.  What a night and I’m glad to say we didn’t experience one like it again on our trip!  Friends of ours had told us we should go to Lugano, so that is why we did.  We did pass a Best Western Motel, it was shortly after 11pm and they were already closed for the day.  Not like here where you can check in at anytime of night. I was disappointed about that, but figured this will happen only once.
 Anyway, we arrived at the Pension at 6 in the morning and the lady there was so kind and gave us a room!  I was exhausted so I went right to bed and Leif said he would keep the children entertained for a bit.  He wanted me to get some rest.  He let me rest a few hours and then came back to the Pension and I let him get some much needed sleep!  The children and I took a walk.  It was a cool day, but we stilled enjoyed the scenery and seeing the cows and sheep.  We stayed there all day and got good nights rest and then we headed to Austria.

 Proof we saw Lugano

The Alps

Beautiful Brown Swiss cow!  We saw many of these.  When I was in my later  teens and also when I was first married I milked a Brown Swiss cow, so they have a special place in my heart.   I would love to own one some day. 

View from the Pension we stay at in Switzerland

I enjoyed the dotted hills in Switzerland with the Alps in the background.

A cute little place we drove by

More of Switzerland

My dear husband and our 3 children, this was in Rappuswill, we took a drive to see more of the area around the Pension we were staying at.  Here there was a little park and a quaint little church.  It was kind of a rainy cool day.

After we were leaving Switzerland, we drove through the tiny country of Leitchenstein

This was taken the day we left the Pension, this was a cute little rest area that we came upon near lunch time and it was the perfect place to eat lunch and stretch our legs.  There was a park for the children and a small petting zoo.    Also the sun was shining and it was warm!! Just perfect! The real first warm weather we had had since we arrived in Europe!  I’m not sure which country this lovely rest area was in, because after we left Switzerland, we drove through Leitchenstein, then Austria for short time, into Germany and then back into Austria.  That’s just the way the roads went.  Our destination was Salzburg!

Our three little ones

So next week, I’ll share about the lovely few days we spent in Salzburg!  Such a beautiful old city and we saw many things and walked, walked and walked some more.  Our poor feet were so tired at the end of the day.   Once again, I can’t say enough how well the children traveled.   Oh we also drove through an area in Switzerland called Heidi’s Land.  I would have loved to have been able to stop and see what there was to see.  I really like the book Heidi as do my girls.     Anyway, I’ll share more next week. 

Please visit Lynnette’s blog to read other walks down memory lane

For the mountains shall depart, and the hills be removed; but my kindness shall not depart from thee, neither shall the covenant of my peace be removed, saith the LORD that hath mercy on thee.
Isaiah 54:10

14 thoughts on “Memories From Europe – Part 2

  1. Sounds like a trip of a lifetime! Switzerland certainly looks beautiful. I look forward to hearing about Salsburg!
    lynette x

  2. Sounds like a trip of a lifetime! Switzerland certainly looks beautiful. I look forward to hearing about Salsburg!
    lynette x

  3. This was an amazing trip you were blessed to take with your husband and children. I can't wait for next week's story and pictures. It feels like you are taking us with you on your journey down memory lane.
    Thanks!
    Linda

  4. Lovely memories, but you must have been so tired!

    We went to Salzburg two years ago. We walked so much that the next morning we could hardly take a step… so painfull!
    But we had to go back and make the best of our 24 hours free museums etc card!!
    .-)
    http://comptines.over-blog.net

  5. That is some absolutely GORGEOUS scenery! From the looks of it, I wouldn't mind living there ๐Ÿ˜‰ What a special trip this was for you and your family. A once in a lifetime kind of thing!

  6. Just beautiful! It looks like so much fun :). Congratulations on winning Tammy's giveaway :)!!! (I'm assuming that was you ;)…)

  7. Thank you for sharing such a wonderul trip! What a blessing to look back and see His wonderful creation!
    God Bless,
    Nikki

  8. Wow! I keep thinking how awesome your kids must have thought that was. When I was young, all I wanted to do was trek across Europe. ๐Ÿ™‚ The pictures are beautiful!

    Thank you for sharing, and I look forward to the continued story!
    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  9. This post (and last weeks) make me want to visit Europe. The beauty of the landscape is breathtaking and I want a cow just like that! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Good for you making such an adventurous trip with your children. Like I said last week, so many adults would leave their children home, but what an experience for them!

I love hearing from you!!

