In Memory of Our Dear Opa



First of all I would like to thank you all for your comments you left me in my last week’s post.  I was really touch.  The Lord has been faithful to us during this past week.  Yesterday was the viewing/visitation. The funeral is this afternoon @3pmEST.

My Opa
Born in Windesken, Germany on June 9,1933
Died in Zephyrhills, Florida on March 17, 2009

In the picture, right to left, Opa, Oma with N. on her lap. Me with B. on my lap,
S. ( my oldest daughter), and then my dad with R. on his lap.

This is about the last picture I have of all of us (minus my husband unfortunately)  with my grandparents.  This was before our youngest was born.  I feel bad I don’t have a more recent picture of all of us together, but I do have lots of memories of our times together, plus pictures.

Opa was such a kind and caring person.  He was always thinking of others and was ready to give a helping hand whenever possible. He always had such a positive outlook on life and how good God was. He looked great for his age and kept very active.  He is going to be really missed by not just us his family, but also the many others who knew him.  He was well loved by all, I kept hearing that over and over again yesterday.   We are comforted to know that we have Heaven to look forward too, while this is still hard, the Blessed Hope is comfort. 

I will close with these verses once again, they were quoted in the "In Memory" card for my Opa at the funeral home.

But I would not have you to be ignorant, brethren, concerning them which are asleep, that ye sorrow not, even as others which have no hope.  For if we believe that Jesus died and rose again, even so them also which sleep in Jesus will God bring with him. For this we say unto you by the word of the Lord, that we which are alive and remain unto the coming of the Lord shall not prevent them which are asleep. For the Lord himself shall descend from heaven with a shout, with the voice of the archangel, and with the trump of God: and the dead in Christ shall rise first: Then we which are alive and remain shall be caught up together with them in the clouds, to meet the Lord in the air: and so shall we ever be with the Lord.  Wherefore comfort one another with these words.
1 Thess. 4:13-18


*I may update this later with some more thoughts of Opa this evening. I know I will be reminded of happy times with Opa during the funeral today.*

20 thoughts on “In Memory of Our Dear Opa

  1. We're holding your whole family up in prayer during this time. May the LORD grant you peace and comfort.

    Blessings to you all —
    Naomi, Seamus and Family

  2. Aren't you thankful for that blessed hope – though our hearts hurt here, temporarily, what wonder and hope we have to look forward to. May God hold you through this time of precious memories and sad temporary good-byes

    Loni
    http://writingcanvas.wordpress.com/

  3. Thank you for sharing your post about your Opa. I love the special picture you posted too. It is a bitterweet time, I know. His verses chosen for the card are comforting.
    Thinking of you.

  4. What a nice grandpa you had. I am so glad that you have special memories. I know that you will miss him.

    Our wonderful Lord will bring you comfort!

    GOD BLESS YOU,..AND THE REST OF THE FAMILY TODAY!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  5. Praying God's comfort for you…thank you for sharing this part of your family…

    Kelly @ The Beauty of Sufficient Grace

  6. I do not know how I missed it on Wednesday. I thought I had read all of the Wednesday Walk's. What a beautiful story. Having those memories of those who have gone on before us is so dear. There are a few truly special ones that I have clinged to over the years of my grandparents. You have been truly blessed to have had such a grandfather in your life.

    Blessings Always
    Raye Ann @ Heart of the Home

  7. I'm not sure how I got the tammyrecipes mixed up with the other one that I put – weird! But it's fixed now. Thanks for the heads up on that. Also, I left the last one out (http://lifeandtales.blogspot.com/) because when I went to it it said it was by invitation only.

    Have a fun day Tanya!
    Lynnette

  8. Tanya,

    I pray that the Lord comforts you during this time of loss.

    Congrats on being featured today. I always enjoy reading your Wednesday Walks.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

  9. praying for your family today as you say goodbye to your Opa. Congrats on being a featured blogger on lynnette's blog!

  10. praying for your family today as you say goodbye to your Opa. Congrats on being a featured blogger on lynnette's blog!

I love hearing from you!!

