Memories From Europe – Part 6 – Back To Germany


Click on the above button to visit Lynnette’s blog for more "walks down memory lane".

May 2005

Schonbergstitch in Germany – I just like this picture.

After our time in Czech Republic, we had to say good bye to our good friends and head back to Germany.   We spent the weekend in the area of Bavaria at a lovely Pension.   Then we headed to visit  more relatives in Stuttgart.  They took us to see the place where my Oma was born and raised.  Then we walked through a quaint little village and spent the rest of the time visiting back at their garden cottage.  It was lovely and very relaxing. 
 Our sweet little boy, he looks so small here.  I do have pictures of us all taking a turn to stand with this statue.

The mill where my Great Opa worked

The house where my Oma was born and raised in.

An old monastery which had been destroyed during the time of Martin Luther.



The quaint village we strolled though.  I just love the way the houses and stores look here.  So beautiful and quaint!


Our oldest "walking" with another shopper. 

We had such a great trip and we were gone for a total of three weeks.  It was wonderful and the children traveled really well.  Our second oldest daughter did complain once about all the walking and no English.  She was getting tired of not being able to understand those around her.  It was cute.  I wished so many time I knew how to speak German, especially when visiting with my Great Aunts, Uncles and cousins.  My cousins could speak English so that really helped.   We spent our last night in a hotel near the airport and had an uneventful flight home.  God blessed us on this trip and directed our path all along the way.  I will treasure the memories always.   I have also enjoyed reliving the memories during these past few weeks.    I hope you all enjoyed a glimpse of it!

15 thoughts on “Memories From Europe – Part 6 – Back To Germany

  1. Wow another beautiful post from a beautiful place!
    That trip is the trip of a lifetime!

    I can see how 'not' understanding people would begin to be irritating…

    That's neat that you have relatives there. By the way, I love that you use the terms Opa and Oma – not American terms for sure. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks for another inspiring post – still makes me want to go!
    Lynnette
    http://www.lynnettekraft.com

  2. I have really enjoyed the photos from your trip. I understand about not understanding those around you – my husband comments on that every time we go to Australia – Just Joking!! He does have a hard time understanding my brother however!
    Thanks for sharing you travel adventures!

  3. I really have enjoyed looking at your photos of your trip! It looks like it was so glorious and so wonderful! What fantastic memories you have! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Glad you had an opportunity to visit and make great memories. Enjoyed seeing your pictures.

  5. I have very much enjoyed seeing all of your pictures from your trip. The architecture and beauty of all the villages is amazing! Thanks so much for sharing it all with us.

  6. Still amazed by your journey…great pictures!

    Many Blessings to you this Easter Season!

    Kelly @ The Beauty of Sufficient Grace

  7. Oh,
    It's so beautiful!!! I was really born in Augsburg Germany, My dad was in the army, so that was really cool.

  8. These are gorgeous photos with wonderful family history and memories! What a gift to your children. Thank you for sharing them with us! And thanks, too, for stopping by my place today! Have a blessed Easter! See you next week.

  9. Very neat, Tanya! Have really enjoyed reading about your trip! I am in the process of finding out who/when/ and from where came over from Holland as my dh's family is Dutch…I think it so wonderful to know all those things about your heritage!

    Thanks for your comment on my blog…sounds like you have some sewing to do! Be sure to post pics of stuff, I would love to see them! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    Amy from http://www.theviewfromhiddenvalley.blogspot.com

  10. I think this is my favorite part of the trips. I love all of these beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing these memories with all of us!
    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  11. I think this is my favorite part of the trips. I love all of these beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing these memories with all of us!
    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

I love hearing from you!!

