First Flowers & Other Things


Our first spring flowers are starting to bloom!  
So pretty and the children are pretty excited about them too.

Today was another warm sunny day and a busy day too. Piano, swimming lessons and grocery shopping make it a full day.  After we came home, the children ran off some energy in the backyard.  Baby has found this blue ball and she has great fun with it. We have a small hill in our backyard and she would climb up the hill with the ball and then let is roll down, she did this a few times.  I hoped to get a picture, but when I came over she wanted to show me the ball instead. 

I also had laundry out on the line today, it was refreshing to be outside before 8:00am hanging it up and listening to the birds singing their morning songs.  A relaxing way to start a busy day. 

Now about our evening routine, I was asked a few questions, so I’ll answer them here.

I like to have supper by 5:30.  We have our big meal at lunch time so supper is a lighter meal.   After supper the children each have their own evening chores to do and I will usually wash the dishes.  After the dishes, there may be a bit of free time, or it is time to do a general tidy up of the living room and bedrooms.  I really don’t like starting the day out with a mess!  It is is my goal to have the children in their pj’s by 7:00 -7:15pm and worship by 7:30pm.  Bedtime is at 8:00pm.  Now the girls will read for a bit, but lights are out by 8:30pm.  The boys are out like a light usually before I’m done nursing the baby and she is tucked into bed.  We were doing really good with that, but lately it has been harder to keep that routine.  So that is our goal here and we are hoping to stick with it again.   Like tonight, they are all still up, Daddy is entertaining them.    They need daddy time too, as he has been so busy lately.  I hope that answers some questions!    On bath nights the evening is a bit busier…

Pregnancy wise, I’m feeling good.  The morning sickness has just about gone, just a few moments here and there.  I’m 13 weeks and 5 days already.  I will need to be thinking about maternity clothes very soon.   I’m so thankful to be experiencing the miracle of being with child again.    I wonder who this little one will be?  October seems so far away and yet I know it will be here before we know it.  Oh, and yes, we plan to be in our new house before the baby is born.  No date set for that yet, that is a whole other post for another day.

Ok, time to tuck some little ones into bed here.    Baby has found me and is letting me know she is ready for bed.  She is so sweet and gives me the sweetest little kisses!  

6 thoughts on “First Flowers & Other Things

  1. We have the same routine! I love it! Although, we usually get pajamas on after family worship – but I'm wondering if it might be better to put them in the pj's before. I'll have to think about that! Does your DH eat lunch with you? We would like to do the main meal at midday as well, but he is gone during the day. Although, when they are available, we eat leftovers the next day for lunch.
    I absolutely love hanging the laundry by 8 am. With my new schedule, I've been getting the first load washed by 8. It is so peaceful that time of morning.
    Blessings to you and new baby too,
    Love Nikki

  2. I need to stick to my routine in the evenings better….we've been off and I've been feeling overwhelmed as a result! It's hard to keep it going when everyone is everywhere though….:)

  3. It looks like Spring for you! 🙂 I can't wait for the weather to get a bit warmer here again so we can spend our time outdoors.

    Congrats on your pregnancy! That's such wonderful news! Every child is such a blessing from God! 🙂

I love hearing from you!!

