The Story Of A Rock

Click on the above button for more details

Today’s walk down memory will be about a rock.  This rock was found one lovely afternoon while taking a walk along the shore of lake Erie.  My parents would take us children for a drive to the lake and then we would walk along the shore.  I use to love those walks and still love to walk along the beach!  On this particular walk, we found this huge rock full of neat fossils.  We thought it was so neat, that we decided we wanted to take it home.  So my dad picked up this "stone" and carried it all the long way back to the car.  Looking back, I’m surprised and amazed my dad did this.  This was a not a light stone, it was a large heavy rock!  I remember his feet sank deep into the sand and I’m sure he was very happy and relieved when the parking lot came into view.  

So this stone blessed our flower garden up by our house and then moved with us to the farm when I was 17.  A few years ago, my parent brought it over here to our home and said I could have it and enjoy it, so it has been sitting in our little flower bed by the driveway.   This rock will move again with us when we move to the new house.  

It is hard to see the fossils prints here, but when the rock is wet they really show up.

Right now the beauty of the
daffodils are surrounding it.

These two pictures were taken in the spring of 2006 and yes, our oldest is sitting on the rock. 


Please visit Lynnette’s blog today for more "walks down memory" lane.


9 thoughts on “The Story Of A Rock

  1. I love your rock and the story behind it. I love the pictures too.

    I always pick up rocks and seashells and bring them home from my trips, but I have never found one this big! That was quite a burden on the back I would think!

    God bless you and your sweet family. And may you have many more blessings on you adventures through life.

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  2. Great post.. Have your children found their own treasure yet? I love to save my children's special things, and so reading this post about your rock was so neat. I especially liked that your parents saved it, and brought it to your own flower beds to share with your children. Maybe it will be a good reminder to your children as they grow that Jesus is their ROCK, and their salvation.
    Thank you for sharing today.

  3. Hehe, makes you appreciate your dad carrying it for you, doesn't it? I can't wait to do things like that with my girls! How are you feeling these days? Hope all is well with you.

    Mama J.

  4. We have a few rocks with those type of fossils in them (from Noah's flood we say 🙂 ) I think it's a type of limestone.

    How much more special your rock must be with the story behind it! What a blessing.

  5. Love the rock. We recently went to the Grand Canyon, but I didn't see any rocks that I could pick up and take home with me.

I love hearing from you!!

