Newborn’s First Hike

Click the above button for more details
and to read Lynnette’s walk down memory lane.

Today’s walk will again be about a walk we once took as a family with friends.  I had just given birth to our fourth child two days before on a Thursday morning and we had been invited out for Sabbath lunch.  After lunch, everyone decided it was a lovely afternoon to go for a walk.  I was feeling so good and energetic, I decided I would go along with the baby.   What a hike that was, it was longer than I thought and it was up and down steep hills etc…  I did take a short rest on a log,  but was I ever glad to see the parking lot where our van was parked.  

Here the view was beautiful and I told my husband I needed to have a picture here with baby
 since I was amazed I had gone on such a walk with a two day old baby.   We hadn’t even decided completely on his name!
 October 1, 2005

Hubby and I with our newest baby boy.  I wish I had a family picture taken that day, but the older children were off with their friends. 

This was taken the following April (2006) at the same spot, so I just had to have a picture with the same sweet, but bigger baby boy.    This time I really enjoyed the walk. 

I’m still amazed, but I don’t think I would do that again.  I know after the birth of our fifth baby I was not up to such a walk two days later.  Not sure I’ll be up to such a walk after this next blessing either.  But you never know….

God is good!

Unto thee, O LORD, do I lift up my soul.
O my God, I trust in thee: let me not be ashamed,
 let not mine enemies triumph over me.

Yea, let none that wait on thee be ashamed:
let them be ashamed which transgress without cause.

Shew me thy ways, O LORD; teach me thy paths.
Lead me in thy truth, and teach me:
for thou art the God of my salvation; on thee do I wait all the day.

Remember, O LORD, thy tender mercies and thy lovingkindnesses;
 for they have been ever of old.  Ps. 25:1-6
12 thoughts on “Newborn’s First Hike

  1. Ah, what sweet memories! No hiking for me when I have a two day old baby…! Thanks for sharing!
    warmly, Becky~blessed to be a mother and her hubby's queen

  2. I'm surprised you went on such a strenuous walk so soon! I could see myself doing the same thing though.

    Holly

  3. You are a brave lady! I don't think I could have done that when I was just two days recovering from childbirth!

    The area was beautiful. It was nice that you could go back a year later with your little guy.

    I love to take in the beauty of God's earth. We went to the Smokey Mountains last fall and it was my first time there. I thought it was awesome.

    Our God is Awesome,…and he is an awesome Creator!

    Thanks for sharing!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  4. Wow! I can't believe you went on a hike either! Love that you got a pic in the same spot later…now that's a precious memory!

    Julie @ Tales of 2 Ts

  5. What a lovely spot! I would never have been able to complete such a walk so soon! God blessed you with great recoveries, it seems!

    Mama J.

  6. Mrs. Lily Of The Valley,

    How amazing that you went on a hike after your little son was just two days old! The LORD must have gifted you with an amazing strength. The view, I must say, was gorgeous and only something so beautiful could be created from the One who is so beautiful Himself. Such a sweet memory to have two pictures of you son in the same spot. What a blessed family you have. ๐Ÿ˜€

    With Much Love From Above,
    Maiden Princess

  7. I'm still amazed when I think back to that. ๐Ÿ™‚ Good memories though! Thanks so much for leaving a comment. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

