Story Time With Daddy

Click on the above button
for more details.

Today’s walk is short and brief, I am having a very busy week!  I almost skipped out, but then thought of this to share. 

Story time with Daddy is a very special part of our day and it is usually during evening worship.  Right now we are reading through Little Pilgrim’s Progress.   Sometimes if the evening has gotten late Daddy will take the younger ones up to the boys room and read them a story there. 

This picture was taken in 2008

Here is a song we have sung since before my husband and I were married or even thinking of marriage.  The family my husband lived with sang this song just about everyday and we as a family sang it often too.  A perfect song to sing just before you tuck your sweet little ones into bed. 

Bright stars are watching the world as it sleeps
Shepherds watch over the little white sheep
The lighthouse is shining for ships far at sea
As God keeps the night watch for you and for me.

So sleep, sleep in peace and rest
Don’t be afraid of the darkness
All’s well for over the land and the sea
God’s keeping the night watch for you and for me.

Dreams you have cherished are broken and gone
Heart’s dearest treasures have all been withdrawn
But when its the darkest, He nearest to thee
For God keeps the night watch for you and for me.

So sleep, sleep in peace and rest
Don’t be afraid of the darkness
All’s well for over the land and the sea
God’s keeping the night watch for you and for me.

~author unknown

Verse two we often leave out, but it is very meaningful as well so I have included it here. 

13 thoughts on “Story Time With Daddy

  1. Dear Mrs. Lilyofthevalley,
    I am so glad that you didn't skip this week! What a darling picture of your husband and children. As of right now I do not have any children but someday when I am married I would hope to have story time like that before mine go to bed. 😀 What a sweet legacy you're leaving for your children. May the LORD bless you!

    Because of His Grace,
    Maiden Princess

  2. I don't think I've told you before, but I love your header! I'm glad you did have an opportunity to share this week. I know, I have missed it while I have been busy and having computer problems!!!
    Have a terrific day!

    Pamela in TX

  3. Thank you for sharing. How sweet that song is.
    Reminds me that when we do have worries and concerns to leave it in God's hands, he is up all night anyway watching over us.

    Stopping by from Lynnette's blog.
    Verna @ Coleman2 , Decatur, IL

  4. Oh I absolutely loved the song! What comfort that would bring each night to a little one as you layed them down to sleep. I know it would comfort me!

    Thanks for sharing this!
    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  5. Storytime is a favorite time in our home in the evening. I love the song that you shared. So glad that you didn't skip this week!

  6. Daddy time with the children is so special. We have that over here too. I love the picture. You know, I hate to admit this, but I don't think I've ever read all the way through Pilgrim's Progress because I got bored with it! ha! The message of the story is great – and I've read younger versions, but never the real thing – there…confession.

  7. That is a lovely song! I've never heard it before. I have often wished I had one particular song I could sing regularly to my girls as they go to bed, but I've never found one suitable for my liking. That seems perfect! My husband also is a regular bed-time man. The girls love it. Since they're in bunk beds, my oldest always asks for the "daddy elevator" to her bed. It's so sweet to watch!

    Mama J.

  8. What a sweet memory, such a special moment. I really miss Wednesday's Walk. Congrats on being pregnant again! Best wishes!

    Thank you for stopping by my blog today. Words cannot express how grateful I am for all the prayers.

    Hope you have a great day!

I love hearing from you!!

