Making Your Home a Haven: Mini-Challenges

Click on above button for more details.

1. Set a timer for 15 minutes and work on cleaning or organizing in an area that you dread getting started on. Just 15 minutes! After that you can stop if you want to. πŸ™‚

I didn’t set the timer, but I cleaned out and organized two overflowing drawers in the kitchen.  It took me about 15 minutes to do both. 

Drawer 1- before picture

and after…

Drawer 2 – Before picture

My little helper vacuuming out the drawer

and after…

It did help that I packed away things I want to keep, but won’t be using until we move.  The things I don’t want or need are going out!

2. Do something you’ve been procrastinating about.

Didn’t do this one….

3. Clean up or organize a pile. A pile of dishes, a pile of laundry, a pile of papers… whatever needs your attention most urgently! πŸ™‚

I do have some piles, but I didn’t have a chance to get to this one today.  My morning was taken up with school, cleaning out the drawers and preparing lunch.  Then husband and I were out all afternoon.

4. Spend some quality time with your family. Look into their eyes and laugh with them! Do something out of the ordinary for or with at least one of your family members. πŸ™‚

If I had have been home this afternoon, I would have done more, but when cleaning out the drawers my boys saw our popsicle forms. Sorry don’t know what else to call them!  So when I said yes we would make popsicles, their eyes just lite up!

Here B. is finding enough sitcks

Now he was just waiting for the orange juice to  thraw a bit.   Now they are sitting in the freezer ready to eat tomorrow!

Three of our children were allowed to go with my dad and mom to visit great Oma, they had a lovely time out.  My husband and I were left with just the oldest and youngest.  We made a visit to the library and brought some seeds for the garden and flowers for the planters on our deck.

10 thoughts on “Making Your Home a Haven: Mini-Challenges

  1. Sounds like a great day! You were able to accomplish a lot. Popsicles sound yummy…maybe I'll make some eyes sparkle tomorrow:-)

    Danielle

  2. Oh, my children found our popsicle "forms" (I don't know what else to call them, either!) today too and my 3 yr old was soooo excited to make popsicles! It is quite an accomplishment to organize not one, but two drawers while homeschooling and supervising 5 children!

    It is wonderful to meet you!

  3. Oh dear, I forgot that my name wouldn't show up–I wrote the above comment!

    Joye @ The Joyeful Journey

  4. Okay, you motivated me! You're so right. It doesn't take that long to do things that we dread doing.

    I have a few projects like that to do.

    I hope you're having a nice week so far.
    Lynnette

I love hearing from you!!

