Six Orphaned Kittens

Click on the above button
to visit Lynnette’s blog.

For today’s walk, I thought I would share about some kittens that were born one spring when I was 15 or 16 years old.  The kittens were born to one of our cats named Mitsy and she was a calico.  There were two black, two orange and two calico kittens in the litter and they were all so sweet.   I was delighted and even more so since Misty had her special place in my bedroom closet.  During this time I was also preparing for my Grade 5 piano exam.  On this particular day, I had my piano lessons and then stayed the rest of the afternoon and evening at my piano teacher’s house, since that evening she had all of her students, who were going to be doing an exam that June, come over and play our pieces for each other.   I can remember wondering why I had agreed to stay the rest of the afternoon and have supper with them (my piano teacher and family) because I was so shy!  But after it was all over and we were on the way home I was very glad I had, because my mom shared some very sad news with me.  She had to tell me that Mitsy, the mama cat had been killed on the road out in front of our place.  I was so sad, I cried.  I was then glad I had stayed the afternoon with my piano teacher, otherwise I would not have been able to enjoy the evening, or even go.  My mom had found Misty just before she came over to hear us all play.    Her kittens were about a week old, their eyes were not even open yet.  I wondered what we were going to do.  We had a good friend that raised Siamese cats, so she gave us a tiny bottle and shared with us on how to feed our tiny kittens and rub their little tummies, like their mama would have done.  I became their "mama" and they sure were loud when they were hungry!   All survived and did very well.  They ended up being the sweetest kittens and grew to be wonderful cats.  We ended up keeping two of them and giving the rest away.   I don’t have any pictures here of them or at least of some of them when they are older.   Whatever pictures I might have are packed away right now.
 

Here is a picture of our cat when she was a bit younger and our son who was 2 at the time.  This was taken in June of 2005.  I just had to add a picture to today’s walk. 
10 thoughts on “Six Orphaned Kittens

  1. That was good that the kittens survived. You must have been a good "mama" to them.

    Loved the picture of your son with the cat.

    Thanks for the memory today.

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  2. So glad that the kittens survived. It is truly a work of love to raise such tiny babies.
    I loved the photo of your son and the cat!

  3. Some memories are bitter sweet. A neat experiece to be able to feed them, even tho being sad of loosing their mother.
    Verna

  4. Some memories are bitter sweet. A neat experiece to be able to feed them, even tho being sad of loosing their mother.
    Verna

  5. Oh, that's so sad. 😦 We had a momma get killed when she had little kittens (7 of them!). We had another nursing momma and she adopted them and nursed all 13 kittens! Can you believe it? 🙂

    Sounds like God had all the deatils worked out for you – better to be shy at the piano teachers house then at home crying over a cat huh?

    Thanks for sharing.
    Lynnette

  6. Thank you everyone.

    Yes, Lynnette, I knew afterwards, I was meant to stay at my piano teacher's home that afternoon. They were a lovely family, I just didn't know them that well. 🙂

I love hearing from you!!

