Memories From When I Was Four

Click on the above button to visit Lynnette’s blog


When I was 4 years old, I broke my right arm in two places between my wrist and elbow.  My younger brother and I were playing with his little cars on my dresser and I fell of backwards.  My mom was away at the time at baby shower and my dad wasn’t in the room, otherwise, I know we would not have been told to get down from there, if my dad knew!  I remember falling, but I don’t remember the pain from the break.  My dad had to call my mom home and I remember sitting in the front with my mom in the car and crying a bit.   The next thing I remember is my parents having to leave me while I had to go alone with the nurses through these big doors and I was crying/screaming for my daddy.  They were not allowed to come in with me.  It must have been so hard for them to hear their little girl crying for them and yet, they couldn’t go to her. 

I remember entering a room, but the next thing I knew a nurse was carrying me to a bed, the hallway was dark and she was telling me I was a really heavy little girl.  I must have fallen asleep from exhaustion and trauma, because it was past my bedtime.   The next morning, my mom, little brother and Oma came to see me.  I was really happy to see them.  The doctor was also there and he told me if I moved my fingers he would let me go home.  It took me a little bit of time, but I think I was afraid it was going to hurt, but yet I wanted to go home!  So I moved my fingers and I don’t remember it hurting. 

That is about all I remember from that time, I can’t even remember when the cast came off, but I do remember having people sign their names on the cast.

Anyway, I just thought I would share that memory here today.  I should go looking through my mom’s photo albums sometime and see if I can find a picture of me with the cast.  This is about my earliest memory too and sorry, no photos to share today.  I have packed away my photo album that has some early pictures of me, once we move I will have to scan some in and share. 
 

12 thoughts on “Memories From When I Was Four

  1. Well, at least you don't remember the pain πŸ˜€ Hope ya'll are doing well and thank you for sharing!

    Because of His Grace,
    Maiden Princess

  2. I am one of those people that never broke a bone as a child….and have only broken a toe as an adult!!! I cannot imagine being a child and going through something like that! Thanks for sharing your memory!!! Glad it appears to be selective!

    Pamela in TX

  3. I never broke anything as a child, but I have broken my elbow as an adult, and dislocated it and it was not fun!

    Children draw strength from their parents. I am glad that nowadays they let the parents stay with the kids in times like you went through.

    Our heavenly Father is always with us, and for that I am truly thankful. We are never alone.

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  4. Ouch, Ouch, Ouch!!! I remember the time I broke my arm. haven't broken anything since except a few toes on occassion!!
    It must have been scary to stay in the hospital without your Mum and Dad. Look forward to seeing the photos when you get them unpacked!

  5. Hey!
    I hope you are doing well!
    I have given you an award on my blog! Hope you like it! I had fun doing it!
    God bless!
    ~Hannah

  6. I have a scar on my forehead from jumping off my neighbor's couch and hitting the coffee table when I was 2. I was also under my Dad's care at the time. Funny how we remember so much of these experiences but not the pain!

  7. Never a good time breaking a bone. Usually kids break something doing something their not supposed to do. πŸ˜‰

  8. It's amazing how vivid those memories can be. Poor little girl to break your arm at such a young age. I was glad to read you got to go home the next day. I am a nurse so I know how traumatic hospitals can be on children.

  9. Thank you for sharing.

    Love reading all the memories of fellow bloggers who are walking down memory lane with Lynette.

    Verna in Illinois

  10. I think it's terribly sad that they didn't used to let parents in the rooms with their children at times like those. Seems so unnatural! You poor thing. 😦

  11. Thanks everyone!

    As I was thinking more about this, I do remember something that happened when I was two, so I'll have to do an update post some Wednesday. πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

