Time Out In The Garden

We have started a made a new garden out by the new house.  My dad plowed up the stop and prepared it for tilling.  Just over a week ago we did the first planting and was it ever a cool day.  It felt like we were planting in April and not June!  That afternoon, we planted a row of flowers, green and yellow beans, onions tomatoes and peppers. 

Tomato planting here

and here again. (tomato)

K. was watching my mom and yes, we needed coats on!

Now watering the tomaotes and peppers. 
Many hands make light work.

A couple of days later, I did a bit of planting.  I got corn, pickling cukes, and more onions planted.  It was hot then.  My little helpers were with Daddy and Opa, because they were bringing in some hay from the field.  Something a little bit more exciting then working in the garden.  

Now these pictures are from today.  We planted potatoes, more corn, two different types of squash, and zucchini.

Potato planting

Potatoes again

We had this frame nearby, so we covered it with a blanket to make some shade!

N. found a toad… 

The garden is just about planted, tomorrow I hope to finish the planting with carrots, dill, slicing cukes, radishes, beets and kale.  The girls are also hoping to have a tiny spot to call their own.  We have also planted sunflowers through out the garden too.  Sunflowers are one of my favourite plants!    I’m looking forward to seeing how the Lord will bless us this summer.  

As for things that are popping through the soil, beans, onions and the first sunflowers are coming up.  I hope to post garden updates throughout the summer and fall. 

But grow in grace, and in the knowledge of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.
To him be glory both now and for ever.

2 Peter 3:18
4 thoughts on “Time Out In The Garden

  1. Hi Tanya,
    I haven't been over on the quilting site much, but I do love reading your blog. I just wanted to let you know that you are a blessing to me. I love reading about your family and your life. Its an encouragement to me and helps me stay focused on the important things. Thanks for being you and sharing it 🙂
    Your sister in the Lord,
    Cathy G. in Colorado

  2. Your garden looks great, Tanya! My husband has done almost all the work on ours. He loves gardening, and since he works from home he can do it during the day sometimes (which then means he has to work at night). I'm sure you'll have lots of produce with all that help!

    Joy
    Graceful Words

  3. Cathy, good to hear from you!

    We are excited about the garden. I'm looking forward to seeing plants. 🙂

I love hearing from you!!

