Out In The Fields

After a week of mostly rain, we have been enjoying the sunshine!  This afternoon, the children and I went strawberry picking again and had a lovely time picking 28 quarts of juicy red strawberries.  Tomorrow, we will make more jam, it is my goal to make at least 52 jars of strawberry jam and also freeze some.  We did have 32 made so far, but I know we have eaten at least two. 

Here are some pictures from out in the strawberry patch.

Eating a yummy berry

B. showing me a funny berry
N. hard a work

Our three girls

K. picking a berry


N. wanted to take a picture of me

All done!

Ready to walk back to the van

B. gave me a hug and it sound like he was saying
 he wanted to hug baby too. 

So tomorrow we know what we are doing right after breakfast is all clean up!  We will be hulling the berries and making jam.   Then in the afternoon, we hope to go to the new house and work in the garden.

I thought of this poem while I was out berry picking.  There is something special about being out in the field, away from the noise and busyness of life.

Out in the Fields with God

The little cares that fretted me,
I lost them yesterday
Among the fields above the sea,
Among the winds that play,
Among the lowing of the herds,
The rustling of the trees,
Among the singing of the birds,
The humming of the bees.

The fears of what may come to pass,
I cast them all away
Among the clover-scented grass,
Among the new mown hay,
Among the rustling of the corn,
Where drowsy poppies nod,
Where ill thoughts die and good are born,
Out in the fields with God.

~author unknown

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Does my blog look ok to you?  I use firefox and it looks fine, although today it has some funny characters showing.  When I opened it up in Explorer it was all funny and not at all the way I see it.  So I’m just wondering what you all see!  Thanks!

8 thoughts on “Out In The Fields

  1. Hi Tanya,

    There are a few funny symbles that come up. And I can't see your baby count down unless I move the screen over. But the pictures look great!! I wish we had a strawberry farm close to us 🙂

    Much love,
    Cathy . colorado

  2. Mmmm, I wish strawberries were still in season here! Wow! 52 jars! That is a lot!!!

    Your blog looks fine to me:-)

  3. Thanks everyone for leaving a comment. I'm glad my blog looks ok, minus those funny symbols.

    It was fun time out in the berry patch, the children love going berry picking!

  4. Hi, enjoy your blogging. Tell your little gal Happy Birthday!

    Your blog looks too wide to me. I was wondering why? I use internet explorer for my browser is that helps.

    Have a nice day and do share where you picked your strawberries.

    Shell

  5. I think it is explorer, because it looks just fine in Firefox. It does look terrible in internet explorer! 😦

I love hearing from you!!

