Our Princess

Click on the above button
to visit Lynnette’s blog.

Today’s walk


This past July 4th, our oldest daughter turned 11 years old.  Being Canadians, July 4th doesn’t mean a whole lot here, but it has ever since our oldest daughter was born.  I was thrilled when I heard "it’s a girl!"  I thought for sure we were going to be blessed with a boy.   Not that it mattered really, I love my boys just as much!   Her names means "Princess pledged to God".

Sorry the scanned pictures are not the best, we had a very cheap camera at the time!


July 4,1998,
I was now a mama and it was such a wonderful feeling! 
I remember being filled with awe when I gazed at our little daughter that day.

One week old

Our princess came to work with me.  Both hubby and I were working here at the time.   I sewed anything from violin case covers to the large bass bags.  Anything that had to do with the stringed instruments.  She was such a happy baby and was easy to have there with me at work.  I had a carriage that she would nap in and then I had a playpen set up for her.  Once she started to crawl, we then moved the sewing to my parents place, since that is where we were living at the time. It was just days before her first birthday that we moved into our very first home!  The sewing came along with us.  Just before our second daughter was born, my Aunt started to work for us and do all the sewing.

Her love for books started very young and she still can be found with a book in hand,
or at least one not very far away.

One of my latest pictures of my precious first born.  She is such a big help and her siblings adore her. I forgot to get one of her on her birthday, we had a houseful and it just left my mind!
July 6, 2009

She loves to read and her favourite animal is horses.  She is looking forward to the day we can buy  a  horse!   She is also very interested in learning about bugs and that sort of thing.  She is a treasure and we are so thankful that she is apart of our family. 

We love you, our dear princess, and we pray that the Lord will guide and keep you in His way!

 I will instruct thee and teach thee in the way which thou shalt go:

I will guide thee with mine eye.

Ps. 32:8

 


 

12 thoughts on “Our Princess

  1. Funny story. My husband was convinced our firstborn would be a boy as well. When the doctor said, "it's a girl!" my husband's response was "What?!?!?"

    She was an adorable baby! You have beautiful kids. Time flies, doesn't it? You'll have to wish her a belated happy birthday from your blogging friends! Congrats on a wonderful daughter!

    Mama J.

  2. Blessings are being sent your way, with many prayers of thanksgiving! How precious the first born child is to a family! It makes a Mama's heart melt, to see our oldest grow so quick!
    In His Love,
    Nikki

  3. she is such a beautiful baby! I love that you could take her to work with you… she must have been a great baby!

  4. Happy Birthday to your precious daughter! And congrats on the soon coming #6 ! Thanks for stopping by my blog today:
    karinewsom.blogspot.com
    Kari

  5. What a lovely entry! How blessed you are!!! Happy Birthday to your Sweet Daughter! Warmly, EMichelle

  6. Thanks for stopping by!

    Danielle, yes, all our babies have been born at the hospital. The last two have been with a midwife. All natural, just in a hospital setting. πŸ™‚

  7. Hi Tanya.
    I'm just getting around to reading the Wednesday Walks! It's been a busy week painting – I think the fumes affected my brain, hee hee.

    I didn't realize that we had daughters the same age. My sweet Anna would have been 11 years old on July 25th. Seeing the pictures of your daughter made me realize just how grown up Anna would have been – she was just 6 when she went to Jesus.

    Was your first born tiny? She looks extra little to me – or has it just been a while since I've had a new born. 😦

    Have a lovely weeken Tanya.
    Your friend,
    Lynnette

  8. Lynnette, I know you may never read this, but I thought I would answer this anyways. πŸ™‚ I'm very late in responding as you can see. πŸ™‚

    When I first read your book, I then realized your Anna was born the same month and year as my oldest daughter. Really made Anna all the more special to me.

    As for our first born, she was 7 lbs 7 oz at birth, so not really small, but so far she has been my smallest baby. πŸ™‚

    Sorry for the late reply, but since our move, the days have just sped by. πŸ™‚

    Blessings!Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Sep. 23, 2009 at 8:57 PM

I love hearing from you!!

