Memories of Our Goats

Click on the above button
to visit Lynnette’s blog

Today’s walk….

I thought I would share a picture of me from long ago…  Here I am with my goat Patches and her two babies.  My parents had goats when my brothers and I were young.  I learned how to milk and look after them.  I have great memories of our times with the goats.  Their babies were just the sweetest little things too.  One of my brother’s goats had triplets twice and quadruplets once,  they were so tiny and cute.   Spring time was always an exciting time when the babies were born.  We were so excited when we would come to the shed and find new babies, or once in a while we even got to witness the birth itself.  Seemed to mostly happen at night, so it was rare.   It was sad when we had to sell the babies after they were bigger, but we couldn’t keep them all!
 
This pictures was taken April 25, 1989
The kid on the left belong to my brother and his goat’s name was Janet. 
The other kid on the right belong to another brother and his goat was Blackie,
she was the one that had the triplets and quadruplets. 

I’m very blessed for the childhood I enjoyed and I have such fond memories of our goats and other pets.  Living with a dry well, so no running water and so much more.  I have shared other childhood memories on Wednesday Walks  Down Memory Lane here and here.

May the Lord abundantly bless you today,
we have so much to thank and praise Him for.

4 thoughts on “Memories of Our Goats

  1. My daughter Lynnette has raised goats, and she loved them too. They milked them and I really enjoyed goat milk.

    Lynnette will have them again some day I'm sure,…but they do tie you down because they have to be milked and fed etc. But they are worth it.

    Thanks for this post and the ones from the past too. You are amazing!

    Linda @ Truthful Tidbits

  2. I love goats! We had Nubian dairy goats. My mom is right – I will definitely have them again someday when I have a proper place to keep them and a little more time to care for them. The Nubian milk is super creamy. Yum!

    What kind of goats are those that you had? Were they Alpines?

    Thanks for sharing. Oh, and I love your brother's goats name – a goat named Janet. That's funny to me. ๐Ÿ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

