Picking Beans And More

Here is a long and overdue garden update.  The garden is in a low area, so it has been wet.  We hope to put a tile in after the garden is done, so next year our garden should be better.  The beans did well and we have lots in the freezer.  Tomatoes are looking pretty good and so is the corn.  Our pickling cukes were looking beautiful, but a blight has struck and they are dieing very quickly.  We were able to pick enough cukes for one jar and eat a number of them.  In our area, it has been really difficult to grow pickling cukes the past few years.  There is a blight and I’m not sure how to avoid getting it.  Anyway, we will try again next year!  We shall see how the rest of the garden does, one half was wetter than the other. 

Here are two of my girls ready to go and pick beans.

Picking beans

Delicous beans

Our one and most likely only jar of pickles from our garden

Corn

Tomatoes

Our first zucchinni, I didn’t think we were going to get any, since they are growing at the end of the graden which was really wet.

N. by one of the larger sunflowers.

He wanted to take a picture of me…

We had to put straw down some of the rows, just so that we could get in the garden without sinking in the mud! 

Our youngest daughter loves to carry the baskets we use for gathing the produce from the garden.  Here she is showing me her beans.  She is such a sweetie!

So that is about it for now, I have had a busy day pickling cucumbers we purchased at a local market.  Maybe I’ll blog more again tomorrow.  Right now bed sounds really good!

Blessings to you!

4 thoughts on “Picking Beans And More

  1. Hi there. Love your garden shot. We didn't plant enough beans this year. Maybe next year we'll plant ours better. Our upper garden was too wet too. My dad said to add soil to raise it up some. Also for a tip for your cucumbers and zucchini blight. I like organic but, you'll need to spray a fungicide on them weekly to save them from blight. I didn't catch one zucchini plant soon enough and I lost it and the cucumbers that were near by caught it too. I sprayed the lower plant and saved it it seems and, I'm still getting zucchini.

    Enjoy the harvest,
    Shell
    http://www.shellsgang.blogspot.com

  2. We did have a beautiful looking garden, although sadly our pickling cukes and the tomatoes all died from a blight. But we can try again next year!

    Martha, I wear your apron a lot! 🙂Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Sep. 23, 2009 at 8:23 PM

I love hearing from you!!

