Bread and Butter Pickles

Click on the above link for more recipes using cucumbers


Bread and Butter Pickles

Cut into thin rings:
30 medium cucumbers
8 medium onions

Cut in fine strips:
2 large pepper, red or green

Place veggies in large bowl or pot.  Dissolve 1/2 cup salt in ice cold water and pour over veggies until covered.  Let stand for 3 hours.  (I have left it over night and they are just fine)

Combine in large pot:
3 c. sugar
4 c. vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar)
1 c. water
2 T. mustard seed
1 t. turmeric
1 t. whole cloves

Bring to boil, add drained veggies and heat until boiling point.  Do not boil.  Pack into jars and seal.  I steam can for about 10-15 minutes. 

These pickles are a favourite here!    Enjoy!

I just am in the middle of making a batch here today.  I have the veggies sitting right now and tomorrow I’ll finish processing them. 

Here is a picture of the veggies standing in the water waiting until I get to them tomorrow morning. I used a yellow pepper too.  I thought it was neat that I had made this, this afternoon and then when I checked out Tammy’s site, I saw her recipe swap for today had to do with cucumbers!  Perfect timing!

This is a picture I took last summer, you can see the bread and butter pickles to the far left. 

I will try and update this post tomorrow with freshly canned jars of Bread and Butter pickles.

10 thoughts on “Bread and Butter Pickles

  1. Mmmm, YUM!

    We did B&B pickles, too, and would like to do one more bushel of dill pickles. Today we get a bushel of green beans to can. It's busy, but oh so handy come winter time!

  2. Great job, Tanya! πŸ™‚ Can't wait to hear how they went! I love your cloud pictures also!

    Amy from theviewfromhiddenvalley.blogspot.com

  3. Thank you for sharing this!!!! πŸ™‚ It is so good to catch up with you and read all your happenings!

  4. You ARE ambitious! Wish I could come and eat it all up! πŸ™‚

    Looks like you've been enjoying summer days – they're almost gone. 😦 I'll miss them.

    Fun visiting today.
    Love,
    Lynnette

  5. Congrats on moving in to the new house! It looks huge!
    Your garden looks awesome! I too had a garden this year!
    Your pictures are so wonderful!

    Warmly,
    Georgiann ourfruitfulharvest.blogspot.com

  6. Thanks everyone for leaving a comment! I love to read them!
    I never did get to update with newer photos. My camera battery needed charging and I couldn't find the charger for the longest time. Thankfully I found it recently. πŸ™‚ Things like that can happen when you move… πŸ™‚

I love hearing from you!!

