Bringing in the Harvest

Yesterday, we harvested the last of the garden.  Actually not quite, just remember that  tomorrow we need to bring in the squash.  We first went out to pull up the carrots, but the children  were getting along nicely with that, so I decided to go and dug up the remaining potato rows.  I called  N. over to help me with that.  It was ok to dig, but bending down (remember I’m 38 + weeks pregnant) to pick the potatoes was not so easy.    We didn’t have a bumper crop, but we are happy with what we did find.   They were a decent size, considering how wet the garden was. 

Here I am with N. helping me. 


R. was taking the tops off the carrots.  We have a hamper full, but I still need to sort them.  The really small ones we will keep for our horse.  The others I hope to freeze.

Part of our onion crop.  They did well and some are quite big!

I took this picture just this evening.  It was rainy and overcast here all day, but then the sun shone through and it look so neat outside. 

It almost seems hard to believe that another summer has come and gone and we are now into the fall already. 

6 thoughts on “Bringing in the Harvest

  1. The potatoes and onions at?Do you have a cool place like a root celler to store them?Or are you canning & Freezing all of it?

  2. I have a cold room that we store them in. 🙂 We store all the canned preserves along with the potatoes and onions in there. So far it has worked well. 🙂Edited by Lilyofthevalley4 on Oct. 8, 2009 at 6:26 AM

  3. Doesn't seem like long ago that you were planting! Harvest looks wonderful. I can't believe you are still working in the garde…I couldn't bend over my belly that far along:-)

  4. I can't believe summer is over either~
    This was our first year of a big garden and I just posted about the last of our harvesting…I still have to dump over our potato buckets! I will leave our carrots in a bit longer!
    Soon you will have other fun things to keep you busy…so I bet it feels good to have the garden closed up for the winter!
    I will be thinking of you and praying all goes well for labor and delivery~
    I can't wait to meet the new little one!

    Blessings,
    Georgiann
    ourfruitfulharvest.blogspot.com

I love hearing from you!!

